Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2009, 02:24 PM   #1

4x4 wheelchair van camper

newbie here. i was on the web searching for handicap ready campers...My daughter is wheel chair bound and in a non fold down wheel chair, her and her chair abourt 135lbs..anyway stumbled accross these sportsmobiles and thought what a great f'ing concept. so does anyone have one that wheelchair accessible...would love to know and see some pictures....if anyone has one of these rigs near se michigan, would love to just ck out this machine even if not wheelchair ready
THANKS,. MIKE....

mestude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 03:04 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: 4x4 wheelchair van camper

Here is one built at SMB west.

Jwhitbread might be able to answer specific questions for you Mike. You might PM him.
Attached Thumbnails
Img2223Fall 2006.JPG  

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:54 PM   #3

Mine is totally accessible, including an accessible bathroom, Braun wheelchair lift, and room to maneuver my wheelchair in the van (although it's tight). Sportsmobile was exceptionally helpful in designing my floorplan, and the online design tool was great. I have some pictures in my gallery and can add more if you would like to see something specific. I looked at alot of RV's but settled on the Sportsmobile because of the 4 wheel drive option and customizing, which was not available from the Winnebago View, which can also be ordered for a wheelchair.

"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I took the one less traveled by. And that has made all the difference." - Robert Frost
winvest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:56 PM   #4

Oh, and that's my van in the picture!

"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I took the one less traveled by. And that has made all the difference." - Robert Frost