Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-31-2009, 09:16 PM   #1

Differential questions from a new guy

I'm new to this and just starting the planning of a Sportsmobile 4x4 ford RB w penthouse.

I am leaning toward ARB front and Limited slip back (is the reverse an option...ARB back Limited front...Possibly a dumb question).
Question is: Is this a recomended setup?

Does the air locker run as an open diff when off?
Is the 4x4 activated seperately from the locker?
Other basic advice is welcomed 'cause I've seen you guys have a lot of differnt types of experiances and opinions.
...I will do a variety of trails including rock, sand and snow and I live in Colorado and have come close to being really stuck a few times on trails and in snow in stock Troopers, Explorers and a hybrid Escape (not to mention my old VW Westy).
Basically, I want to go where I've never been able to before (and be able to come out when (and if)I want.

erwinturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:41 AM   #2

Re: Differential questions from a new guy

Welcome on board.

Regarding the limited in front, from factory it is not available and it is not advisable to have one there; when the hubs are engaged, the front axel will tend to pull the van straight if the limited is to tight. It can be ok for a vehicule used only offroad.

Yes, the air locker is open when not engaged and the locker is independent from the 4x4.

Enjoy the planning phase...
AndrewST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 06:55 AM   #3

Thanks, this is the kind of info that can help. Also, specific experiences
erwinturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:53 AM   #4