Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2012, 08:05 PM   #1

Looking to purchase 1999 SMB 7.3L Diesel

I'm in the market to purchase a 1999 SMB with 7.3L diesel engine and would like some advice on what to look out for as far as engine/power train integrity. I have never owned a diesel powered engine so any advise on key areas to inspect would be greatly appreciated.

Old 09-13-2012, 08:39 PM   #2

Re: Looking to purchase 1999 SMB 7.3L Diesel

[quote="dante"]I'm in the market to purchase a 1999 SMB with 7.3L diesel engine and would like some advice on what to look out for as far as engine/power train integrity. I have never owned a diesel powered engine so any advise on key areas to inspect would be greatly appreciated.[/quote

I am no mechanic, but have owned two.

-look at the valley for oil or fuel. will probably be fuel but will look like oil.
down pipes (pull off dog house and look at those pipes going down right after the turbo I thing) you can see if there leaking.
-obvious leaks in and around the under parts that move. tranny, transfer case etc. the junk if the valley will make it look like the tranny so look carefully.
-look closely the best you can around the air box. under that is the fuel bowl which will be hard to see if at all. depends on how in depth you go.
-there was a recall on the CPS in 07 I think. easy fix, but you can check on that. easy fix if not as a dealer should take care of it. I would keep an extra in the glove box and a 10mm socket just in case.
-batteries. the vans you can only really see one. the ohter is under the rig on the passanger side rail (that is where mine is)
-while driving I would see how the tranny shifts into gear. and also when driving.
-how long does it take to start after the "wait to start light goes off" if it take a bit, it could be a few things but good to note.