Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2008, 10:05 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Falls CA
Posts: 876
Rotor Stud Holes

Ok, so i did a bunch of searching here and read something about how the SMB uses stock F350 Rotors , but they need to be drilled out to fit over our larger studs? Is this true?

And if i go buy the rotors from Dynatrac instead of Ford will the holes be drilled out already? (since they use them on their axles)

I really don't feel like having to drill out rotor stud holes.

Our rig is a 2003 SMB with a pro-roc 60 and premium warn hubs. Thanks guys
__________________

__________________
Dave and Yoshi [Ki6LBB]
http://www.adventureduo.com
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB50 V10 (SOLD in 2008)
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB DYO 7.3 Diesel

Tread Lightly! Trainer
Pack it in Pack it Out>>>> http://www.trasharoo.com
adventureduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 11:56 AM   #2
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
I would love to have over sized rotors calipers and pads but I would have to change eight wheels and tires so I went with a rotor/pad upgrade There could be better out there but these work well for me. Way less brake fade. My van is 12K+ and pull a SMB trailer often. All I can say is so far so good. My next move will be to upgrade the brake lines to braided stainless steel lines.

http://thebrakeman.com/home

Dave B
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 12:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Falls CA
Posts: 876
Ok, just got off the phone with dynatrac. You do in fact have to open up the holes on the stock F350 rotors to 7/8".

Just wanted to confirm i did. Thanks guys.
__________________
Dave and Yoshi [Ki6LBB]
http://www.adventureduo.com
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB50 V10 (SOLD in 2008)
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB DYO 7.3 Diesel

Tread Lightly! Trainer
Pack it in Pack it Out>>>> http://www.trasharoo.com
adventureduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 10:39 AM   #4
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
So your saying if I need a rotor for my front pro rock 60 axle (or the full floating rear axle) and I'm somewhere that only has stock Ford rotors, someone will have to drill them out?

That would be something to know for sure!

If that a fact, I better get back my old rotors from a friend I gave him for his Ford pickup. They won't work.

Dave B
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Falls CA
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb
So your saying if I need a rotor for my front pro rock 60 axle (or the full floating rear axle) and I'm somewhere that only has stock Ford rotors, someone will have to drill them out?

That would be something to know for sure!

If that a fact, I better get back my old rotors from a friend I gave him for his Ford pickup. They won't work.

Dave B
Yep, thats why i figured more people would respond to this post. It's kind of important. It's only the front axle that has to be drilled out. And its not that much just a little taken out. Not like your drilling holes into the rotor, you're really just opening it up a hair.
__________________
Dave and Yoshi [Ki6LBB]
http://www.adventureduo.com
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB50 V10 (SOLD in 2008)
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB DYO 7.3 Diesel

Tread Lightly! Trainer
Pack it in Pack it Out>>>> http://www.trasharoo.com
adventureduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 06:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
charlie56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: santa rosa ca
Posts: 994
Re: Rotor Stud Holes

Quote:
Originally Posted by adventureduo
Ok, so i did a bunch of searching here and read something about how the SMB uses stock F350 Rotors , but they need to be drilled out to fit over our larger studs? Is this true?
Did you investigate F450 rotors. SMB uses the F450 on the '08's
__________________
... Charlie
EV-2 build is now complete, (yeah right).
KZ6T
charlie56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 11:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Falls CA
Posts: 876
I did not. Sorry.
__________________
Dave and Yoshi [Ki6LBB]
http://www.adventureduo.com
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB50 V10 (SOLD in 2008)
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB DYO 7.3 Diesel

Tread Lightly! Trainer
Pack it in Pack it Out>>>> http://www.trasharoo.com
adventureduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 06:23 PM   #8
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Charlie I think 450 rotors are a hole nuther ball game. SMB told me the stock 350 parts would all go back??? This goes for brake pads, and lines....I hope. Man what if you lost a line in the middle of nowhere. Sorry I gave away my old rotors.

Dave B
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.