Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-20-2017, 11:23 PM   #11

[QUOTE=VtSoundman;212396]It may seem insane...here is why...
1) I work in utility scale solar & large scale energy storage systems. My van is also used a mobile office & conference room ... rolling out a genset/hearing/smelling one for a 30-90min mtg on a hot job site...nah.
2) My dogs need to be kept cool for a few hours while I traveling and I'm in a store/in an office/etc
3) I hate gensets

Lets see, to keep the dogs cool for one hour would require one half gallon of gas idling your engine and running the dash AC. You keep your batteries charged as a free extra. No setup required just turn it on....

There are debates over idling but that is why I have a gas engine in my Promaster.

DCHitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 11:25 PM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomH View Post
WILL SMB install this 380 amp alternator? Are you sure it will fit? How much is the mechanical load going to lower MPG?
The engineers at American Power say it will fit - they have seen the MB drawings and claim it will. I'm wtg on the formal paperwork before pulling the trigger.

Not sure if SMB will use this unit or not...I intend on doing some things to my van before it gets to SMB...
VtSoundman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 11:30 PM   #13

O.K., just watched the video. Obviously it fits and I'm impressed. Now, will SMB install this? Are Brian and the Feld's aware of it? If not, BackCountryGuy, you may want to ask them and even show the video when you are there soon. I will inquire via email tonight, but Brian often can't answer for several days.
TomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 11:36 PM   #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomH View Post