Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-07-2016, 06:43 PM   #1

Our Journey to "Sparky" the Sprinter Sportsmobile

Robi's "Magic Carpet"-Our SMB Sprinter Build post inspired us to document our own.

OUR HISTORY OF CAMPER VANS AND CAMPING VEHICLES

We’ve enjoyed your story about your camper van history. It brought back many memories of our own camper van and camping vehicle past which lead us to Sportsmobile. In 2015 we bought our first brand new Sportsmobile, a MB Sprinter 144” high top from SMB West. Before I get too far ahead of myself, I’ll rewind forty plus years where the story begins.

In the late 1960’s while in college, I worked as a lot boy at a VW dealer where one day I was assigned the job of unpacking and setting up a brand new Westphalia camper in the showroom. It had every available accessory including the side tent. That was it, I was hooked! I knew I had to have a camper van someday and the sooner the better.

I saved what I could of my summer earnings through college and shortly after graduation, my wife and I as newlyweds bought our first VW bus. It was no Westphalia, it was a 1965 Kombi with nothing inside but the two front seats, a rear bench seat, and gray painted metal. A lot like a tin can inside. It was under powered and loud but it was ours. With a limited budget and a thimble full of knowhow, we turned that VW bus into a cozy camper in the parking space of our apartment. We enjoyed lots of wonderful adventures in it over the next few years. Sorry, we couldn’t come up with any photos of that one but it was of the vintage of the one in the SMB West showroom.