Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2019, 02:35 PM   #1

E150 extended sumo springs / Timberen

Hope this is the correct location for this request for info.

I have a 2012 E150 extended stock van. It is built out as a stealth camper and I was considering adding either Summo Springs or Timberen. It is just to eliminate the travel when on rough road. I do not go off-road and would like to keep the somewhat reasonable ride of stock.
I did not measure the heights before I started so I am unable to fully gauge any squat, but it seems quite level.

I have thought of going all around with either but I do not have any additional load on the front so that might be unnecessary.

I have a Roadmaster front steering stabilizer fitted which I would recommend.

Any thought or comments would be appreciated.

I just don't want to turn an otherwise nice van into a rodeo bull.

Love the site.

asgard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 06:20 PM   #2

Timbrens can cause excess rebound because they are made from rubber. The Sumo's don't, because they are made from urethane foam, which has good self-damping properties. But why do you want to reduce suspension travel? It's your friend when driving off road.
Old 07-29-2019, 04:36 AM   #3
JWA

Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
Thanks to CarringB I installed a set of Sumo Springs, more as a helper spring that would engage if my load caused any squat. Just before adding those though I'd added a single leaf to the stock E250 regular body rear springs.

With that combo and adding even as much as 1200# and have no more than 3/4"
rear drop from the unloaded ride height. The Sumo Springs are still well over 1" from touching the rear axle. There's no squirrely feeling but I'm not looking to do hot laps on a gymkhana course either.