Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 04:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,597
Where is your brake controller (E350)?

Well I've got a 7-pin trailer plug but no brake controller. I've been scoping out the cab- think I'm going to install one myself this time so I can decide where it goes.

If you've got one, where is it? (Pics please) Where would you ideally place one?
__________________

__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 05:32 PM   #2
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,834
I have a Tekonsha Prodigy brake controller installed more or less directly in front of my right knee on the lower dash panel. Leave enough slack in your wires so you can remove the lower dash panel, and make sure whatever brake controller you go with can be mounted at that angle (nearly vertical). Not a whole lot of other places to mount one IMO, and still be able to reach the manual brake lever on it.


Herb

P.S. Can provide pics after I get my SMB back (probably 6 Aug due to SMB West schedules, and a business trip on my end).
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 07:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toledo, {NW} Ohio
Posts: 87

Ditto!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco_hauler
I have a Tekonsha Prodigy brake controller installed more or less directly in front of my right knee on the lower dash panel. Leave enough slack in your wires so you can remove the lower dash panel, and make sure whatever brake controller you go with can be mounted at that angle (nearly vertical). Not a whole lot of other places to mount one IMO, and still be able to reach the manual brake lever on it.
Herb
__________________
CUL8R;
Ken Kill Sr.
2005 SMB RB15
6.0L PSTD
Torqueshift
Voyager Roof
:q6:
kenkillsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 07:30 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

I am about to have one installed. Any pics from someone who already has it installed.
Skyhighsportsmobiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 11:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
oldbonesclimber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Osos, CA
Posts: 273
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

I mounted mine in the center console under the cup holders. Works perfect for me and is out of the way. I will post pics when i return from out of town.

Paul
__________________
2007 RB50 6.0 PSD Walker Evans Streetlocks, 305X70X17 Terra Grapplers Custom Aluminess Roof Rack, ETC ETC
oldbonesclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 09:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Aldercrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 462
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

Mine is where Herb's is. It's a great shin knocker when climbing into the driver's seat from inside the van.
__________________
2002 E350 EB - Voyager top - 7.3 - Quigley 4WD
Aldercrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 04:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
depark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 237
Garage
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

X3 where Herbs is mounted. Great location! It's a Tekonsha Prodigy P3.
Cheers
Darryl
__________________
2006 Ford E250 RB 5.4L gas
Clydesdale 4WD Conversion
SCT Livewire TS+ with 8 5Star custom tunes
4.10 gears, Dana 44 TTB open carrier
VA7DTP
depark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 08:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,160
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

I meant to snap a pic of mine today while my wife was driving. Here's the problem with having it either on the left or right side of that awkward lower panel Ford uses in the vans. When my wife drives, she puts the seat wayyyy forward. With the controller on either side her knees hit it. I had to mount my current one right in the middle under the steering wheel so she would drive! It works there fine, though, and I can reach it with either hand. She's 5'6", by the way, not really short, but I've seen other ladies drive Ford vans too and they seem to tend to put the seat up where their knees as almost touching that panel. Food for thought.

I also vote for the Tekonsha Prodigy (2 I think is what I have)

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 06:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
oldbonesclimber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Osos, CA
Posts: 273
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

Here is the location I chose after pondering the install for a while. I think the DrawTite is the same as the Prodigy just different Badging. I'm very pleased with the location. It is never in the way and easy to get to . The wiries were the problem and I just ran them from the Dash over the engine cover into the back of the Console. I also have a 4 Plug power adapter I ran into the console and an IPOD cable from the stereo. I can't stand wires hanging all over the dash and this solved the problem. Each of the wired components has a quick disconnect behind the console so it is easily removed to access the engine. (the IPOD jus pulls through a hole). Hope this helps.







Paul
__________________
2007 RB50 6.0 PSD Walker Evans Streetlocks, 305X70X17 Terra Grapplers Custom Aluminess Roof Rack, ETC ETC
oldbonesclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 12:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: Where is your brake controller (E350)?

I am totally stealing that 12-volt socket in-the-console idea! That's great I, too, hate the constant tangle of wires over the top of the console as I charge various devices. And I even have one of those 12-volt blocks like you do, just sitting new in the box.

I don't have much experience with Ford/dash type wiring projects - would you mind explaining where and how you connected that "block" to get power to it, and how you made it disconnectable for removing the console?

Thanks!
Viva
__________________

Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.