Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-10-2017, 12:04 AM   #1

Garage
Looking for our adventure rig

Greetings y'all,
My Fiancé and I have been dreaming for two years about our perfect adventure vehicle and we can almost taste it. Finances are in place to purchase our first SMB. We are a family of three with our 12 y/o boy and are pretty sure of what we are looking for. Any advice or a rig yet to be available would be much appreciated. I have been silently watching this site for a long time and admire the experience here, so here we go.

We are looking for:
-EB350 diesel, gas is ok but I prefer diesel for the Espar heating system.
-Engine size isn't critical to me. Just need to be able to power through heavy snow, steep grades and rough mountain roads. Not likely to tow any real weight.
-Electric PH top is critical, we will have gear and solar on the roof, van needs to sleep 3 or more.
-EB50 floor plan works but isn't perfect. More door side counter space and under counter storage is preferred.
-Fixed propane cooktop, we cook inside in freezing temps for much of the winter (skiing problem). We currently have an oven in our cabover camper and love it. If there is such a thing for SMB we are all ears.
-16 gallon (ish) potable water system, grey water tank not necessary (we camp outside of campgrounds 90% of the time)
-porta potty is not needed, ew, turns out nature is right outside.
-Solar is a bonus but I can add.
-4x4 is essential. I am not well versed on SMB vs Quigley, advice is welcome.
-Aluminess bumpers and ladder.
-A worthy winch is preferred.
-Lift will help, we routinely head 'home' in unplowed snow.

Any thoughts or advice is appreciated. Part of this post is just to say Hi. We live in the PNW, The North Cascades are our primary playground but we will travel to pick up the right van. Once we have the van there are no borders :-) -Cheers