Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2009, 09:44 AM   #1

Baja Safety.....

Folks

Any first hand info on current saftey in The Baja?

I lived in Mexico for 10 years, visit my buddy in TJ once a month.
My family camped in The Baja for years as a kid, but that was
in the 60's and 70's

I have a healthy respect for the current drama in TJ.
When i see my buddy in TJ, i know the drill.

My wife, dog and i are planning a November trip
(my wife is 90 pounds and a couple of decades my junior)
We dont like crowds, thus the SMB 4x4
Entry at Mexicali, and hugging the Sea of Cortez

I have common sense, and speak pretty good Spanish.

thanx in advance

Comments / Suggestions Por Favor:

billwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 10:30 AM   #2

Re: Baja Safety.....

Dont know if you ever got your answer to this, but i thought id chime in. Ive been doing baja for the last 15+ years - solo and with people, and please understand that while mexico is still a 3rd world country with a corrupt government, baja is still pretty safe. All the drama that has been in the news recently with the be-headings, hangings, stuffing bodies in garbage bags, etc... is all within the TJ/Ensenada area and is happening to people associated with the Cartels, or government figures/family of them.
I know of only one case in 2008 where an american family crossed the border at TJ late evening and were stopped just as the toll road starts by "fake" cops who made the family get out and under a blanket and stole their rig and everything inside it. They walked to the border.