Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2011, 02:26 PM   #1

Campground Etiquette

I hope this is the right forum in which to ask this question. I'm new to this, so I apologize for my ignorance, but google didn't work for this. Suppose I bring my SMB to a campground about 3 or 4 p.m. and the folks direct me to a specific site suitable for the size and needs of the SMB. I hook up to shore power, do whatever. At 6 I'm hungry and don't feel like cooking. I drive out to a restaurant and return. (1) Will I find that the site to which I was assigned has been re-assigned? (2) Should I, do I need to, tell someone "official" that I'm going out but will be back? (3) Would it be foolish to leave anything (power cord, barbecue, chair, whatever) at the site? (In other words, do I need to pack up again, and unpack when I return from dinner?)

Many thanks in advance. As I said, I'm new at this, and so I would not be surprised if someone wonders why I'm even asking these questions. I need to learn!

bluesprinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:37 PM   #2
Site Team

Re: Campground Etiquette

My experience is that most organized campsites have a campsite marker with a clip of some sort to attach your receipt for that campsite.

Personally I always try to leave something (of no real value) behind to quickly indicate the site is occupied to prevent any misunderstandings. A lot will depend how close to "civilization" you are.

Herb
Old 03-20-2011, 03:01 PM   #3

We also leave something on the campsite when we leave the site for the day. A table cloth on the table, maybe a chair or two. Nothing of real value but something to show the site is occupied. Do that even if we have an occupied sticker or date stamped receipt on the site post.

The Green TARDIS
LenS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
Site Team