Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2015, 04:53 PM   #121

Garage
Re: What do you do for work/living?

I hadn't seen your trip report Dave, really ineresting. Thanks for sharing.

Old 01-23-2015, 08:29 PM   #122

I just saw your blog as well. You have a great job.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 09:00 PM   #123

Well I'm only 29 but I have been and done a lot of things. I live in CA now but grew up in Iowa. I was a groundskeeper, an event coordinator, a UPS delivery boy, sold boats and water sport stuff for a while, but mainly was a construction worker building custom homes. I've done pretty much everything from digging basements and pouring footings to building custom cabinets and milling custom trim. I really enjoyed working on historic homes.

For the past 4 years I have been a Project Manager for a kitchen equipment contractor. We design and build out the Food Service portion of relative construction projects. From restaurants, schools, and hotels, to huge chow halls, and hospitals, if theres a large number of people being served food, we can build what it takes to do so. I have four 2 man crews to install and another 2 guys that strictly do refrigeration work. We do millwork, custom stainless steel, duct work, and some architectural metal from time to time. Lots of stuff. Its very involved and very detail oriented. Also a lot of stress but I enjoy the stress...to an extent.

I am starting to look for another job as I am young and am learning the company I work for is not set up to support me for the long haul. I enjoy what I do, but want more support from my company. I feel emotionally vested in my company, with not much in return (I'm not talking 100% $$$$ either). Its a long story, but I need to jump ship if I find something thats the right fit.