Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-08-2017, 08:55 PM   #1

When Baby Beluga gets stuck, IT GETS STUCK!

I've been going out to the Pismo dunes a lot lately so my kids, friends, and I can run our RC cars. My E350 is 2wd, but reasonbly well equipped with Camburg bent beams, Agile Fox Shox, Detroit locker, etc. I've been driving in the dunes regularly for more than 20 years, so I usually get away with the "minimum speed required" approach.... not today!

Already aired down, I was cruising along the back fence line looking for a good spot to run our RC's. I drove down a ~15-20' tall dune while heading south (so not terribly steep as when heading East would be) and I lifted out of the throttle for a bump near the bottom. As soon as I got back on the throttle to start up the other side, the ass end stepped out about 45° from my desired line and forward movement stopped as the rear wheels drifted into an adjacent bowl. Dang it.

I kicked my buddy and his kids out of the van and aired down to my minimum of 8psi (I learned from a previous experience that my sidewalls crease/fold over on themselves at 7psi) and tried to walk it sidewalls out of the bowl. Nope.

Time for plan C. I cut the wheel to one side and went for it in reverse to try to square up with the slope of the bowl, knowing it wouldn't climb all the way out the other (taller) side in reverse. Then the rear overhang of my EB finally showed its downfall. The rear bumper plowed in, and the front was still pointed uphill. Stuffed.