Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2008, 01:00 PM   #1

Additional Driving Lights - DIY

I'm finally at the point where I want to improve the lighting on our SMB while driving. I'm not concerned about highway driving, but this would be for back roads and off road use. Obviously the standard headlights on the E350 are pretty miserable.

We currently only have the standard front bumper. I will most likely bolt the lights directly to this bumper. I had considered adding a removable light bar just forward of the PH, but this would add considerable money and complexity to the wiring. I was hoping to install the lights myself, but I have never done this before. Has anyone done this before? If yes, any references on how to do this? Specifically, how does wiring work? Do you go directly to the battery or can you utilize the something pre-existing under the hood? Or, am I crazy to do this myself?

Also, any suggestions on the actual lights you would recommend? As always thanks for the help.

Old 07-18-2008, 01:50 PM   #2
Site Team

Installation all depends on how comfortable you are with tackling it yourself, and how much time you have. I will say the engine compartment of any newer vehicle is very cramped, and a van is even more so.

I had 3 Hella HIDs on my SMB (two broad beams, one pencil beam). I've only played around with them a few times, but if they're actually operating properly, I would never spend that kind of money on them. I'm not impressed with their performance. FWIW, I don't think the factory headlamps are bad.

Here's a good source for lights, wiring, switches...

http://www.rallylights.com/

Herb
Old 07-18-2008, 02:06 PM   #3
Site Team

Another option, is this bumper/light bar from Camburg (Huntington Beach).

From their website (unsure how current the prices are).