Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2011, 02:36 PM   #1

battery charging with solar and shore

i have a dumb question. being self taught, there are gaps in my knowledge.

solar panel>mppt charge controller>batt bank.

shore power>inverter charger>batt bank.

solar amps around 7-10 depending on conditions and mppt effect
inverter/charger rated as 10amp charger

do they both charge the batt bank at the same time? do they conflict in any way? does the charge controller sense that the batts are receiving higher amp from inverter/charger and stop? or do both devices sense when the bank is at the right voltage for fully charged and stop? is the charge additive from both sources?

so a sunny day charges via pv and i have the inverter/charger plugged in as well.

cant figure that out. i dont see any mention of this. i see that folks have two (or three if you count vehicle alt) methods of charging but not how to manage between them.

thanks for the nudge in advance

Old 07-18-2011, 05:04 PM   #2

Re: battery charging with solar and shore

Here's how I understand it:

The amps aren't relevant as far as conflicts. It's voltage that you're interested in. The voltage of a battery relates to its state of charge; a charger senses this voltage and decides to charge based on its reading.

In theory, if you're on both solar and shore, you might end up just float charging the battery, regardless of its state of charge. This is because the solar charger will be charging at, say, 14V. You hook up shore power, it sees the high voltage, thinks the battery is charged, so sets itself to float. The solar charger then senses this float voltage, stops charging, and also settles into float mode. Because they're both providing float voltage, neither can sense the battery's true voltage, so can't provide the correct charge.