Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2016, 09:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux View Post

I guess the question becomes how many amps does a 50% discharged AGM 4D battery pull?? That is where the voltage drop get's more critical.
I suppose that's a function of how discharged the battery is.......

At about 50% SOC (state of charge) it seems that my house batteries (two in parallel) sometimes pull close to 60A out of my shore power charger (Intellipower 92XX) 60A converter).

My neighbor's Sprinter RV (with the exact same house batteries) recently had the house batteries discharged down to around 5V.....would have been interesting to see the current drawn then....but he doesn't have a battery monitor.

BTW, battery monitors are quite handy....much more useful than I thought the one I have would be before I got it.

The interweb-thingy probably has the answer somewhere.....
__________________

__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 09:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,331
Thanks for all the input!! Like I said, it's time to gather components and get after it.

ANL Fuses OK for the 2ga mains??
__________________

__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 09:52 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by boywonder View Post
I suppose that's a function of how discharged the battery is.......

At about 50% SOC (state of charge) it seems that my house batteries (two in parallel) sometimes pull close to 60A out of my shore power charger (Intellipower 92XX) 60A converter).

My neighbor's Sprinter RV (with the exact same house batteries) recently had the house batteries discharged down to around 5V.....would have been interesting to see the current drawn then....but he doesn't have a battery monitor.

BTW, battery monitors are quite handy....much more useful than I thought the one I have would be before I got it.

The interweb-thingy probably has the answer somewhere.....
I plan on the Bogart Trimetric and their 30 amp SC.

I did do a couple searches and didn't get much. Maybe time to call Lifeline and ask them!
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:04 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux View Post
Thanks for all the input!! Like I said, it's time to gather components and get after it.

ANL Fuses OK for the 2ga mains??
They should work fine......

I used circuit breakers........the one located at the starting battery is very convenient for disconnecting the house batteries from the starter battery (and I need to pull fuse #20 and disconnect starting battery) when installing and removing seats to avoid triggering SRS dash light.

I used several of these:



These are not much more than the fancy Blue Sea ANL block and a fuse....

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...i+amp&_sacat=0
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:10 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,331
Dangit. There's a smoking deal on ANCOR 1/0 on ebay, 2.50 a foot with 5 dollar flat shipping and he's got black and red.

Only concern is how hard it will be to run the thicker cable.

I like those breakers, easier solution than a switch and fuse.

Dropped an email to lifeline on the amp pull thing.
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:20 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux View Post
Dangit. There's a smoking deal on ANCOR 1/0 on ebay, 2.50 a foot with 5 dollar flat shipping and he's got black and red.

Only concern is how hard it will be to run the thicker cable.

I like those breakers, easier solution than a switch and fuse.
Do you have a means to terminate the cable? The local place wants my first born every time I need an end crimped.

I bought my 2GA cables from Ebay with end terminals....very happy with them.
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:28 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,331
You can buy a hydraulic crimper for 40 bucks. That would be easiest and give one the ability to crimp at location and get lengths accurate.

Something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/PENSON-CAYQK0...rminal+crimper


Probably gotta do like 12 crimps at least....seems worth it.
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:51 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Newberg, OR
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux View Post
You can buy a hydraulic crimper for 40 bucks. That would be easiest and give one the ability to crimp at location and get lengths accurate.

Something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/PENSON-CAYQK0...rminal+crimper


Probably gotta do like 12 crimps at least....seems worth it.
I used one of those to make the battery cables for the Cummins swap. Worked well. Definitely worth $40. I found it was way easier to mount the crimper in the vise and have both hands available for setting up the cable end and getting it positioned right.

Get yourself some adhesive lined shrink tube to cover up all of your connections too.
mgmetalworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:51 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
KTMRIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 421
Garage
The link above for 4 guage has this disclaimer:
WIRE IS NOT AWG (AMERICAN WIRE GAUGE). SET TO INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS.
Anybody know the difference? Is this still considered 4 Guage like we know it in the US? If all checks out it does seem like a good deal.
__________________
2006 Ford E-350 V10 Agile 4x4 with SMB EB50 layout

2000 Ford E-350 7.3L Quigley 4x4 hard top with custom interior by Xtreme Fab - Sold
KTMRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 10:52 AM   #20
Member
 
freeagent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by winmag4582001 View Post
I'm using 4 gauge wire (Ebay) for my set up. Running about 12' total going back to 2 AGM batteries and inverter. I'll do a video when I'm done.
Here's my purchase list:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
4 Gauge Wire Red Amplifier Power/Ground 4 Ga Amp Wire 25 Feet Cable Roll | eBay
Going back to 2 of these batteries:
Duracell® AGM Deep Cycle Marine and RV Battery - Group Size 34M - Sam's Club

Personally I like going bigger but 4g will do, I consider that to be the minimum for the distance I'm running and what I'm doing.
Two things to watch out for when buying wire on eBay (taken from description in the above link):

1. WIRE IS NOT AWG (AMERICAN WIRE GAUGE). SET TO INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS.

I have ordered before from eBay sellers before and the wire jacket is the same size as the stated gauge, but the actual wire inside is significantly less than stated gauge if compared to AWG. (see pic for reference)

2.
CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum)

The wire in this particular listing is not pure copper. There are a few observations to be made about CCA especially in DC power applications. One disadvantage is higher resistance. However, cost is one advantage. There's always give and take, so everyone can make their own decision about what's right for their own application, but just be aware that there are differences between the two and some sellers will sell CCA under the impression that it's pure copper.

In this case, the seller seems to have really good feedback pertaining to the product in this listing, but I just wanted to help create some awareness for those who may not know what to look for.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
2005 E350 4x4 V10
freeagent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.