Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-18-2017, 07:47 PM   #1

CB radio antenea

I have a fiberglass highroof, my van has a plastic hood...

I'm kinda new to CB, but have done the youtube research. I know that some types of antennas need a ground plane like a steel roof or steel hood.

Where do I mount and and what type of antenna do I use?

Edit: My interest in CB is two-fold. A) communicating with members of a group while out on a 4x4 trail (mostly for my Samurai) B) as a back up 'get help' system while on solo trips

Old 10-18-2017, 08:03 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomsBeast View Post
I have a fiberglass highroof, my van has a plastic hood...

I'm kinda new to CB, but have done the youtube research. I know that some types of antennas need a ground plane like a steel roof or steel hood.

Where do I mount and and what type of antenna do I use?
Google "Marine CB Antenna" and you will find some that do not require a ground plane. Made for fiberglass boats....
DCHitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:35 PM   #3
Site Team

I use a Firestik CB antenna on my Bronco. On the page below, on the left-hand side, there's a "No-Ground Plane", CB Antenna Kit:

CATALOG Main Page (Frame Setup)

My Bronco has a soft top, and a fiberglass hood, so there's a distinct lack of a ground plane, and it works just fine.

Herb
Old 10-18-2017, 09:20 PM   #4

Interesting read here re: Ground Plane. Seems like we still have sufficient metal to have a ground plane vs a boat. A non Ground Plane antenna may create some issues???

"ground plane for a CB radio antenna is the metal surface required below the antenna. In mobile applications, the vehicle body/frame acts as the ground plane (reflective unit). The metal surface enables the signal generated when transmitting to reflect off the surface and travel into the atmosphere"