Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-12-2013, 09:09 PM   #1

Extreme Newbie Needs Simple Answers

I am extremely new to the RV world and just bought a beautiful 2008 Dodge Sprinter Sportsmobile. When I picked it up from the owner he explained everything inside and out that I would need to know. Since I was purchasing a dream come true, just about everything he said went sailing over my head. I was too awestruck to absorb it all. What I need to know, in the simplest of terms, is how and when to use the inverter and/or charger. This is a TrippLite Inverter/Charger. Here are some scenarios:

1. The Sprinter is sitting in my driveway for a week without being driven. Do I have the Inverter ON, the Charger ON, or both OFF? I'm guessing OFF.

2. I am driving for five hours to a destination and I want to have the refrigerator running. Do I turn the Inverter ON or the Charger ON?

3. I get to my destination and there is no electrical hookup (out in the boonies).
Inverter ON or Charger ON? When the light gets to yellow on whichever one is on will driving around for awhile recharge it? When camping without electrical (30 amp) hookup will the Inverter or Charger allow the use of the microwave?

4. I get to a campground and hook up to 30 amp. Do I still need to turn the inverter or charger on?

BTW, yes, I am a woman. I have no problem driving the vehicle, it’s just that electrical things are a bit confusing to me.
Thanks!

roguerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Extreme Newbie Needs Simple Answers

Quote:
Originally Posted by roguerunner