Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2014, 01:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
rallypanam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco/Nevada City
Posts: 3,679
Ford Idle Control Module

So I got one of these, but the placement in the van is poor. I want to move it, but I need to extend the wires, so I have a couple questions.



1. Any issues with building a new harness with added length?
2. Any idea where to source a male and female matching connectors so I can just plug in another couple feet of wire and not start cutting (since the manual says not to cut).

Manual: https://www.fleet.ford.com/TRUCKBBAS/no ... manual.pdf
__________________

rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:46 AM   #2
JWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 2,315
Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Not familiar with that device however its possible adding length to the cable could affect its operation.

If it wouldn't then I'd simply use a Delphi-type GT-Series 150 & 280 male-female connector package inserting it between the two factory attached connectors. In this way you'd have your extra length as well as retaining the original configuration too.

Here's a catalog of Delphi connectors that might be helpful: http://delphi.com/connectors/assets/...es_Section.pdf
__________________

JWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rallypanam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco/Nevada City
Posts: 3,679
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Yes, that's why I don't want to cut what's there, just add in another section. Then if it buggers it all up I can remove.

Thanks for the link, I should be able to find what I need, just gotta go take some pics and measurements of what's there..
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 12:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,522
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Even if you add a connectors you must take care to use a twisted pair wire for the communication lines , Connector 4 (white/purple) SCP Bus - and connector 9 (Red/Blue) SCP Bus + . It looks like the communication lines are the main source of worries for extending.

-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 12:10 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Newberg, OR
Posts: 960
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

I've been able to track down almost every Ford connector I've had a need for through mouser.com. Sometimes you need to do some digging in Molex, TE Connectivity or Delphi catalogs to find the part numbers to search for but unless it is really odd-ball, they should be available through that site for a few bucks each.
mgmetalworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 05:25 AM   #6
JWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 2,315
Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmetalworks
I've been able to track down almost every Ford connector I've had a need for through mouser.com. Sometimes you need to do some digging in Molex, TE Connectivity or Delphi catalogs to find the part numbers to search for but unless it is really odd-ball, they should be available through that site for a few bucks each.
Yep! Given the variety of automotive type connectors and terminals it can be a hunt for certain. I use Mouser for all my Delphi connectors and terminals, tend to use what suits the purpose whether its number of circuits and ampacity or physical size.

Another site is the Motorcraft .pdf pages for most ever Ford related connector, at least those available as service parts: http://www.fordtechservice.dealercon...torcatalog.pdf Through the OEM or Motorcraft's part numbers they're somewhat easier to locate although the price each can be a bit of a shock.
JWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 10:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
rallypanam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco/Nevada City
Posts: 3,679
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmetalworks
Another site is the Motorcraft .pdf pages for most ever Ford related connector, at least those available as service parts: http://www.fordtechservice.dealercon...torcatalog.pdf
That link is perfect.. Thanks!
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 10:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
rallypanam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco/Nevada City
Posts: 3,679
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scalf77
Even if you add a connectors you must take care to use a twisted pair wire for the communication lines , Connector 4 (white/purple) SCP Bus - and connector 9 (Red/Blue) SCP Bus + . It looks like the communication lines are the main source of worries for extending.

-greg
Hmmm. Never dealt with those before. But how hard could it be?
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 05:39 AM   #9
JWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 2,315
Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by rallypanam
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scalf77
Even if you add a connectors you must take care to use a twisted pair wire for the communication lines , Connector 4 (white/purple) SCP Bus - and connector 9 (Red/Blue) SCP Bus + . It looks like the communication lines are the main source of worries for extending.

-greg
Hmmm. Never dealt with those before. But how hard could it be?
Sorry for the late reply...............

Anytime a "module" is part of a circuit and it includes some sort of interconnecting cable/harness its highly subject to operational issues due electrical characteristics being changed should the OEM wiring be altered.

The observation by Scalf77 is spot on because it addresses communication lines whose proper operation are very dependent upon shielding, wire layout etc etc.

While extending a wiring harness length is simple enough physically careful attention towards maintaining all electrical characteristics isn't necessarily as easy. In addition that extra length might be too much for any signals to travel back and forth even if we think its not that much longer. This is because some "modules" operate on such very low voltages, additional wire length impedance and/or resistance could be a problem.
JWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 03:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rallypanam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco/Nevada City
Posts: 3,679
Re: Ford Idle Control Module

Update: I decided this was going to be a pain in the butt, and I didn't ever see the need to actually have the idle control, so I removed it. Problem solved.
__________________

rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×