Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2014, 09:02 PM   #1

Help with my electrical design?

Warning: I am a complete and utter amateur. I apologize in advance if this is a super annoying post. I very well might just be in over my head.

Summary:
  1. I am adding a second battery in my van to charge devices, power lamps, etc. (I will call the second battery the house battery from here on out.) I'm attempting to design a system where this house battery is charged off the starter battery. [/*:m:5ozau1dk]
  2. There must be a mechanism in place that prevents the house battery from draining the starter battery while the ignition is off and I am using power. [/*:m:5ozau1dk]
  3. To do this I plan on using a solenoid to make sure the house battery is only charging when the engine is on. This will also ensure that the house battery doesn't draw off the starter battery. [/*:m:5ozau1dk]
  4. I'll be using an inverter so I can use AC, and a circuit breaker of sorts so I don't harm the battery. [/*:m:5ozau1dk]

Diagram:

Here is a diagram of what I have so far: http://imgur.com/i9aqdiQ
While I did my best in making this diagram, I know it is hard to follow. I apologize.

Notes:
  1. What I plan to power initially: A lamp or two, my laptop charger (60W AC), and my phone charger.[/*:m:5ozau1dk]
  2. What I’d like to be able to power eventually (with help of added solar panels): A stereo system with a record (vinyl) player, a small fan or two and a hot plate. I’ve been told to forget about the hot plate because they run on an upwards of 1000W and are extremely inefficient. However I would like to be able to cook in my van without opening the windows as I’d like to do some stealth camping in cities.[/*:m:5ozau1dk]