Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2018, 08:03 PM   #1

Homebrew electrical layout and shopping list

This is the umpteenth pass at my electrical layout for Ridley, a home-brew Transit. Time to go public for feedback.

Ridley is entirely 12V – no 110 V. Initially, the house batteries will be charged by an ACR. Later, if needed, I will add solar.

I am a total newbie at 12V but I have been reading forum posts and blogs until my eyes cross. I learned a lot from FarOutRide.

So …. deep breath …. here is my high-level layout.

Are there glaring errors of omission/commission?

Next step – assuming the layout is OK or close to OK – is to make an Amazon list.

For the on/off switches (Blue Sea Systems 350 Amp E-Series Battery Switches) do I need the simple on/off switch, or the switch with AFD (whatever that is?)

Blue Sea ACR: 7610 or 7611? And how about being able to jump the van battery from the house battery if needed .... is that just a frill?

Should I use on/off switches plus a fuse, or use a circuit breaker which could act as an on/off switch? I want to use whichever is safer, not cheaper or easier.

Are 150A bus bars sufficient?

How do I size the fuses (or circuit breakers) show in the diagram? For example, FarOutRide used a 40A fuse before their 12V fuse box so that they could use 10-14AWG wire rather than heavier wire to their various 12V loads.

And, in anticipation of a future solar system (that sounds so Neil DeGrasse Tyson), do y’all have advice on which battery monitor to select? Should I decide now about a particular brand/model of solar controller and match the monitor to it? Or does it really matter?

So many questions.... I apologize, but I suspect annoying y'all is better than electrocuting myself....

Old 02-28-2018, 08:23 PM   #2

Looks pretty good from a starting point.