Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2010, 01:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
House battery cable size?

I am replacing my old inverter with a new Prosine 2.0. I am also installing a quick disconnect while I am at it. My issue is I need to add length to existing cables to hook up the new switch and inverter. I cannot find markings on the existing cables, but they are huge! I purchased 2 gauge inverter cables to hook everything up, but they just aren't as big as existing cables. Maybe the coating on the existing cables is more? Does anyone now what size Sportsmobile uses? Do you guys think what I am using will be proper? Thanks
__________________

__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 02:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vwteleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 632
Re: House battery cable size?

There's some additional info and a link in this thread.

Brent
__________________

__________________
2008 E350 EB, V10, GTRV Conversion
vwteleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 05:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: House battery cable size?

Thanks Brent. I went through the inverter manual. It should be a 600a cable. Looks like they used 4/0 Marine or welding cable. Called the RV center to asked where they got theirs. I am having some cables made. $60 for 3 small cables with eyelets totalling 4ft. Small price to pay to have it right.
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: House battery cable size?

picked up the cables. They are actually a tad bigger than what is there. I believe what smb uses is the flexible 3/0 cables. Price came out to $68.00.
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: House battery cable size?

I finally got around to finish the install. Turned out pretty nice. I was able to use the existing hole to mount the new disconnect switch. Amazing that it fit perfect. The prosine 2.0 is a much improved unit over the old Trace Legend 1.0. Nice to have the monitor with all the info. Have not decided where to mount it yet.



__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Re: House battery cable size?

I wish mine was close to the door so I wouldn't have to climb in every time I want to turn on and off the charger. Just a thought....no more of a gripe.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: House battery cable size?

When retrofitting, you need to put it in line somewhere. Choices were there or under vehicle. Took the path of least resistance. Loving the new Prosine 2.0. Took a chance and bought a used (barely) Prosine from ebay for 750 delivered. Thankfully it was as described. I would suggest the prosine and switch to anyone looking to upgrade and older model. Being able to properly charge the 8d then isolate it after will significantly extend the life of it. Next step will be solar, but that will have to wait.
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:37 PM   #8
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Re: House battery cable size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMBDAD
When retrofitting, you need to put it in line somewhere. Choices were there or under vehicle. Took the path of least resistance. Loving the new Prosine 2.0. Took a chance and bought a used (barely) Prosine from ebay for 750 delivered. Thankfully it was as described. I would suggest the prosine and switch to anyone looking to upgrade and older model. Being able to properly charge the 8d then isolate it after will significantly extend the life of it. Next step will be solar, but that will have to wait.
What is it?
Thought you were talking about the control panel which uses an RS 232 cable??? The control panel can be mounted most anywhere as long as the cable makes and I'll bet they make an extended cable.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: House battery cable size?

Sorry Dave, I thought you were referring to the disconnect switch. I guess I will have to use it for a while to see what would be the best location for the panel. Having to flip the disconnect switch may end up determining the location as it would be better to have all controls in one location.
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:31 PM   #10
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Re: House battery cable size?

Ya man....my separator has a electrical remote disconnect that is mounted close to the door which serves the same purpose but it's an electrical "low amp" disconnect.....but I understand your post. The heavy amp stuff needs to be close.
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.