Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2018, 09:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BrianW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,632
Inverter/charger charging when plugged in?

Ok, Iím out camping thus weekend and am having a brain-blank on this: when plugged into shore power, does my inverter/charger (Trace Engineering aka Xantrex) automatically charge my batteries or do I have to turn it on to charge? All my AC breakers are on and weíre running our Starcool. In my defense in 6+ years of owning our SMB weíve camped with shore power probably less than 10 times! Thanks...
__________________

BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 11:36 PM   #2
REF
Senior Member
 
REF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boulder, CO.
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via MSN to REF
Inverter/charger charging when plugged in?

Believe it should be charging your batteries if youíre plugged in-charger side. If itís a unit that has a remote on/off, youíll only need to turn that on to run power to the outlet(s)-Inverter side
Battery monitor? Solar/solar charger?
Either should give you your battery status to show itís either being charged and/or topped off.
__________________

__________________
'03 7.3L PowerStroke Diesel
SMB RB-50 w/CCV High Profile Pop Top
Quigley 4X4 w/Deavers & Agile Offroad's R.I.P. package
REF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 07:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,854
One easy check is to check the battery voltage....if it's above 12.8V you are charging....


You must have a voltage readout somewhere.....or use a multimeter.
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 08:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,293
It has been a while sense I looked at a Trace Manual, but I believe their default setting would be charge only when plugged in, it should leave the AC in bypass mode and charge the battery. This function can be slightly different on different manufactures, models.
For the Tripp-Lite SMB used it was pretty much like REF said, I know my Magnum Inverter has a distinct charge on button.

In any event with any of these inverters you could be suffering from two things when running just the charger, the Starcool is a heavy use AC item, if there are any other things plugged into the AC at the same time they will also add to the consumed AC power. If this goes up high enough the charging power is automatically dropped down so that it can support the AC Loads. This means it is possible your charge input would be lower than it would be normally (Say if Starcool wasn't running).

The second problem when running Starcool is that it also has a pretty high DC current draw (especially when blower is on high). This high DC load along with any other DC items you might be using would divert a good deal of the DC power from ever actually going into the battery. So it could appear that the battery was not charging.

In any event, if the charger was not working , it would be a pretty serious drain on the battery, and I expect you would find that out before getting back to this post.

hope this helps

-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 10:57 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
KTMRIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 414
Garage
Is this at a campground with dedicated true 30 amp power? This can make a big difference in the Starcool and ability to also charge. If it is only a 20 amp circuit your barely ok for the Starcool to work well.
__________________
2006 Ford E-350 V10 Agile 4x4 with SMB EB50 layout

2000 Ford E-350 7.3L Quigley 4x4 hard top with custom interior by Xtreme Fab - Sold
KTMRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 07:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BrianW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,632
Thanks all! Yes itís a 30amp outlet. Looks like Iíll be reading my manual when I get home!
__________________

BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.