Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2017, 10:07 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 335
inverter equipment ground

Hooked up a 1000w inverter and there is an equipment ground.
Where does this ground get hook to, or is it necessary?
__________________

hogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,482
To the same DC ground that you are using, Your manual should specify a minimum gauge.

-greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
arctictraveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,837
The ground wire should be the same size as the cables feeding the inverter.

https://www.bluesea.com/support/arti...ttery_Chargers
__________________
Arctic Traveller
KC6TNI
2001 GTRV
Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
www.arctictraveller.com
arctictraveller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 08:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,913
Is it just an inverter or does it also have shore power transfer switch capability? Might be helpful if you post make and model info.

Any kind of battery monitoring system going in with this??
__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1der View Post
Is it just an inverter or does it also have shore power transfer switch capability? Might be helpful if you post make and model info.

Any kind of battery monitoring system going in with this??
Ray it is the Zamp 1000w pure sine inverter that Lowes had on sale a few months ago.
Unit does a great job of running the Micro and charging 18v Milwaukee batteries
There was no mention in the instructions of the equipment ground, I did not know if it should be grounded to the 12v or the 120v
hogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,482
It is a safety ground and should go back to you DC Ground connection, Given that ZAMP does not even reference it in their manual, you may want to call them.

In general you go with the same size or one size smaller as the DC to battery run, some vendors will also give let you size it based on the size of your DC fusing.

-greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.