Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2014, 11:24 PM   #1

Is my SurePower 1315 going bad?

When warming the glow plugs and starting my 2008 6.0, I have noticed that the SMB-supplied house battery meter green light goes out. After the engine is running for a couple minutes, the green light comes back on again.

After reading the "Battery Isolators,Separators, and Switches?" sticky thread, this is what I assume is happening:

1. The 1315 is sensing a drop in the van battery voltage, and is using the house batteries to "help" the van batteries start the engine.

2. The alternator is recharging both the van and house batteries, making the green light come on again.

I had new van batteries installed in May 2013, so I don't think they are the problem. They could be bad, but how can I test them? Or how can I test the 1315?

Warning: I am an electrical noob, so please type slowly when responding....

Old 02-09-2014, 12:26 AM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Is my SurePower 1315 going bad?

SMB did change the auto combine to a push button switch that needs to be engaged to assist start via the Surepower. I don't like or want it to always combine the house and starting systems when cranking the engine.

If you have another issue like a short or bad starting battery connections it can cause the same issue. Check all the starting battery connections.

Pull the ground going to the Surepower separator. If the engine labors to start, your starting battery (gas version) or one/both of your diesel batteries has gone south or there is a bad connection somewhere.

It's normal to have the separator take several seconds to confirm a charge status and close.

If the house system is bad you'll know it b/c the house voltage will be in the red by morning. Of coarse it all depends on your 12v house load.