Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2008, 09:11 PM   #1
Member
 
ruggedjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 53
New Pioneer Headunit w/backup camera installed

Got some interior goodies Pioneer p4000 Just finished installing it about an hour ago.




So these units that play DVD need to be wired into the parking brake to the only time you could actually watch any movies is when your at a stop. Obviously i had to bypass that. Researched some forums and this what needed to be done. A push button momentary switch.


At the same time, i installed a back-up camera. Bought the Audiovox system from bestybuy. Again, didnt tap into the reverse power. Instead, wired it to a switch so i could turn it on and off whenever i want.

Sorry for the sh!tty pics.

Reverse power


Home page


The best documentary

Camera mounted.


__________________

__________________
05 V10 Baja Tan
www.RuggedJeep.com
ruggedjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,600
Nice stealth install on the black switch, look ma, no holes!

Will it stay if you tilt the steering wheel?
__________________

__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 07:01 AM   #3
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,010
Just from the one user menu screen shot, it already looks far less complicated to use than the Kenwood unit that I have.

BTW, great choice on the DVD. Dust to Glory is a fun movie.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Forest Falls CA
Posts: 876
Congrats on the new head unit. Thats the same unit we have. We love it and have the override switch installed so we can watch DVD's too. It's also nice that when we put the truck in reverse the back up camera comes right on automatically.
__________________
Dave and Yoshi [Ki6LBB]
http://www.adventureduo.com
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB50 V10 (SOLD in 2008)
2003 Baja Tan SMB EB DYO 7.3 Diesel

Tread Lightly! Trainer
Pack it in Pack it Out>>>> http://www.trasharoo.com
adventureduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:45 PM   #5
Sam
Senior Member
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 101
Re: New Pioneer Headunit w/backup camera installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruggedjeep
Got some interior goodies Pioneer p4000 Just finished installing it about an hour ago.

So these units that play DVD need to be wired into the parking brake to the only time you could actually watch any movies is when your at a stop. Obviously i had to bypass that. Researched some forums and this what needed to be done. A push button momentary switch.


ruggedjeep:

Does it have to be a push button momentary switch? Are you still connecting it to the parking brake wire on the van module? What about the speed sensor? Would this switch give you access to the GPS functions as well? I considered putting a SPDT switch on my parking brake line to get complete GPS & iPod functions.

I have an Eclipse AVN5510 that has GPS, DVD, Backup Camera & iPod. With the proper hookup, once you start moving, most of the GPS functions are locked out & I'm sure that the DVD functions are gone. What really gets me is that they have limited the iPod functions by only allowing me to have access to about 6 albums of songs.

I've considered purchase of the Kenwood DNX8120 that uses Garmin GPS & has lots of other bells & whistles mainly because the Eclipse doesn't dim very well when the radio or iPod screens are on at night. The screen is way too bright & distracting. I was told that even though it is wired to my dimmer switch, the Eclipse will only dim a preset amount because it uses voltage as a dimmer function.

Sam
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:53 AM   #6
Member
 
tskyhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tahoe City, CA
Posts: 30
Nice install and nice write up. I just put the Kenwood DNX8120 in my SMB and took a 3000 mile drive across the country learning it. I love it.

I wired my camera to switch on when in reverse, but the Kenwood also has the option to switch it on whenever I want.

Getting around the e-brake thing, I simply ran the wire straight to ground. I had thought originally that it needed a hot 12V lead in order to fool it, but discovered that grounding it was all that was necessary. As far as the head unit knows the e-brake is always on - no switch required.

Those thinking about the Kenwood be aware, though, that some minor dash trimming is needed to make it fit. I spent a lot of time with the dremel gently opening up the dash and dash face to fit it in there. Also fabricated a custom bracket to secure it. I guess that is why Crutchfield will tell you that double DIN doesn't fit our vans.

Anyway, enjoy the new toy.
__________________
Tim
2006 Ford E350 6.0 SMB 4x4 Modified EB45
tskyhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 12:09 AM   #7
Sam
Senior Member
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 101
tskyhi- Does that mean that you have all of the functions of you DNX while moving? What do you think of the Kenwood thus far? That is the replacement unit I'm considering? They look pretty nice & the people that rated them for Crutchfield seem to like them.

Sam
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 11:55 AM   #8
Member
 
ruggedjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 53
Thanks for the compliments guys. The black switch for the reverse camera is temporary. I had the switch in my box and just used it till i buy a decent set of switches and mount them in a proper location.

I do not have navigation on this unit. I use a external Garmin Nuvi unit which i am really happy with. I have full Ipod control and USB control while the rig is in motion.

During the install, i too thought i could bypass the E-brake thing by running the "green" wire straight to ground. Didnt work that way. I would get the caution screen when i turned the van on. By just playing around with some wires i accidently removed the "green"(ground) wire and then reconnected it and it bypassed the "caution/warning" screen, thats when i realized it needs to be a momentary switch. I researched online and found these write-ups.
http://www.f150online.com/forums/head-u ... -pics.html

http://www.avic411.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14154

Also, the opening for the stock unit needs to be modified. I used my dremel and a large file and spent about an hour, carefully making the opening a little larger. Its a tight fit, i hope i dont have to pull it out anytime soon.

__________________
05 V10 Baja Tan
www.RuggedJeep.com
ruggedjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 10:46 PM   #9
Sam
Senior Member
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 101
Ruggedjeep:

Thanks for the info & links!

Sam
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 06:02 PM   #10
Member
 
ruggedjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 53
Some pics of the clarity. Really happy with it so far.

__________________

__________________
05 V10 Baja Tan
www.RuggedJeep.com
ruggedjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×