Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2014, 09:03 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 652
Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

I'm trying to get interior power (lights, fan, radio) by plugging my van into my garage using the 110v/12v conversion chord and a heavy duty extension chord. I plugged everything in and did not have any interior power. Is something else I need to do?

Note:
-I do have full power to everything when the van is turned on.
-My house battery is dead.
-Breakers are all on.

__________________

__________________
1999 7.3 4x4 RB50 SMB
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:10 PM   #2
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,973
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

GFCI outlet in your house?

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=8212&hilit=gfci+shore

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=6155&hilit=gfci+shore


Herb
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 652
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroncoHauler
Yeah I have one on the outside of my house. I'll try that outlet and report back.
__________________
1999 7.3 4x4 RB50 SMB
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 652
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

So that was not the issue. Any other ideas? If I'm plugged in should all the interior lights work automatically or something else I need to do?
__________________
1999 7.3 4x4 RB50 SMB
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:59 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Gooseberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Covina
Posts: 1,212
Garage
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

interior lights will be 12v and run off the house battery. when plugged in your charger should be charging the battery and giving power to those lights.

if you plug a light into the 110 outlet does it light? if not your not getting power from the 110 plug. what is a 110/12 power cord? you should only have a 110 cord and once plugged in your 12v will come from the battery charger in the van.

this sounds stupid but flip the breaker to make sure they are not tripped or in the off position. I work for a breaker manufacture and its a weekly call. might be in a different spot then the 12v brreakers



I always bump my main breaker for some reason and turn the main breaker off in the van.
__________________
Kelly, Claudine, Sophie dog, Bell the redheaded step child and Gooseberry RIP.

Most the time the Copilot is Now Sophie dog the noise maker.

2000 7.3 PS Quigley/RB30 with a 6 window poptop.
Gooseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 10:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 652
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooseberry
interior lights will be 12v and run off the house battery. when plugged in your charger should be charging the battery and giving power to those lights.

if you plug a light into the 110 outlet does it light? if not your not getting power from the 110 plug. what is a 110/12 power cord? you should only have a 110 cord and once plugged in your 12v will come from the battery charger in the van.

this sounds stupid but flip the breaker to make sure they are not tripped or in the off position. I work for a breaker manufacture and its a weekly call. might be in a different spot then the 12v brreakers



I always bump my main breaker for some reason and turn the main breaker off in the van.
Thanks for the reply. The cord I'm using is the standard cord that plugs into the outside of the van (110v) and allows you to plug into a regular household outlet (12v). I'm also using a heavy duty extension cord. All my breakers were on. My house battery is completely dead and won't hold a charge. Could it be that because my house battery is shot that's the reason I can't get shore power?

I am equipped with a Trace Engineering PS Series 2512 inverter/charger for what it's worth.
__________________
1999 7.3 4x4 RB50 SMB
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KTMRIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 495
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

Try plugging into a non GFI outlet/circuit and let us know. You might lookup the inverter documentation and see how it is grounded internally as this can cause issues with a GFI outlet depending on the configuration.
Eric
__________________
2006 Ford E-350 V10 Agile 4x4 SMB EB50 - Sold

2000 Ford E-350 7.3L Quigley 4x4 hard top with custom interior by Xtreme Fab - Sold
KTMRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:23 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Gooseberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Covina
Posts: 1,212
Garage
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

Ok the house power is 110 and should provide 110 to all the outlets in the van not 12 volts. On shore power can you plug a light into any of the vans outlets and have them light?

I bet it's the inverter and how it's plugged in. Your shore power is not switching from the inverter to shore power and becoming a charger and without seeing it I'm only guessing.
__________________
Kelly, Claudine, Sophie dog, Bell the redheaded step child and Gooseberry RIP.

Most the time the Copilot is Now Sophie dog the noise maker.

2000 7.3 PS Quigley/RB30 with a 6 window poptop.
Gooseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
twogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Taylor, Mississippi
Posts: 1,648
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

My noob logic: If the house battery is totally gone, it can't accept a charge and send out 12v... I'm guessing
__________________
'95 SMB E350 Quigley 7.3
http://www.taylorarts.com
... If you have to ask, you'll never understand...
"... torpedo'd, because we don't generally cotton to bullshit around here." -jage
"... do they ooch apart in the night?" -Dia
twogone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 09:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tonyvoudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 212
Re: Noob Question. How to plug SMB into my house?

I think as suggested, the main thing to try is verify that once you plug the van into your house 110v, you should be able to plug in a lamp or something inside one of the van's 110v's and get power. Also verify that no GFI's are tripped inside the van if you have them. The fact that your interior 12v lights are not working at all sounds like either the main circuit is tripped, one of the 12v fuses are dead, or your house battery is dead.

I believe you should still be able to power 110v lamps inside the van (when plugged in) with a dead house battery as long as no breakers are tripped.

On a side note, for anyone interested, I recently bought a simple conntex adapter for use when my van is in the garage so I don't have to pull out the power cable at home. I use a regular extension cord to keep the van on house power and a small space heater with a freeze plug that kicks on when the van its 32 degrees. Can't have all that beer freezing in the van now can we?!?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002YB ... UTF8&psc=1
__________________

tonyvoudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×