Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2010, 11:42 AM   #1

Replacing or adding solar panels?

Hey There,
I've got a 2005 SMB, recently purchased, with 3 'flexible' solar panels that are attached to the top of the Yakima pod that is up there. I am pretty certain these were installed 5 years ago when the van was built. In front of that pod is a satelite Tv Trackvision 'dish' that lies flat against the roof above the passenger seat. Knowing that, I have a few questions...

1. After 5 years, how has the solar panel technology improved and could I get more efficient panels. I am still learning about this rig, slowly but surely, and am not yet positive how efficient the existing panels are. How do you measure how efficient your panels and battery are? I don't know the age or type of the extra battery.

2. Do they still make these flexible panels?

3. I dont forsee using the Trackvision, there currently is no Tv and I dont intend to get one. Would it make sense to remove the Trackvision and in that spot put a 'latest and greatest' solar panel?

4. Would SMB Indiana be able to do that for us?

I am going to contact SMB Indy about this too, same questions, but I wanted to throw the hook out to you guys as well to get some 'first hand experience' type response. Thanks again.
Rip

Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:18 PM   #2

Re: Replacing or adding solar panels?

Have any pics brother?

I am pretty sure that the technology has improved

I am un clear if you still want the flex panels or the rigid ones

Additionally:

What is your battery storage amp hours total?

What is your required load ( lights, tv, fridge, etc)?
billwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:40 PM   #3

Send a message via AIM to surfgeek33