Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2010, 08:20 PM   #1
Site Team
 
WVvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,292
Scangauge placement?

I went on a little roadtrip today (4 hours) and used my scangauge for the first time. I also brought along a roll of masking tape. Using the tape I moved the gauge all around the dash to find the place that visually "felt" the best. This included night driving. For me the best spot is on top of the dash, two inches from the edge, just to the right of the steering wheel.

Since the Scangage goes for $159 (at the moment) it would be silly to leave it up there just inviting someone to steal it. I could always use Velcro to mount it and take it down when parked but that leaves the wire to always mess with.

I'm looking for suggestions on how other people have mounted their Scangauges and what they did with the wire.

Thanks.

PS. My 4.2L 6 cylinder might not be made for towing a boat but according to the Scangauge, on hilly Interstates all day, I get an average of 19.3 MPG. I wonder what I can get on flat land?
__________________

__________________
Open the pod bay doors Hal.

Once I exit Hal, this is what I do.
http://larry.wvnet.edu/~van/pics/lic...late-small.jpg
WWW.WVBIKE.ORG
WVvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:13 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
yvrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 795
Re: Scangauge placement?

Ours is mounted right on top of the steering column. It blocks the light indicating that the parking brake is on but nothing else. I seriously doubt that there be much of a black market for these devices but having it more or less hidden from sight makes sense.
__________________

__________________
Jack
'01 Ford EB50p Quigley 4WD
yvrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,281
Re: Scangauge placement?

Drilled a hole above 12 volt outlet, and mounted there. I have thought of cutting more material out and recessing the whole thing in, but it never went by the thought stage.



-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:56 AM   #4
Site Team
 
WVvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,292
Re: Scangauge placement?

Hey Greg,
That is my alternate location. Did you have to remove the dash to mount it there or can it be reached from beneath?

Dave
__________________
Open the pod bay doors Hal.

Once I exit Hal, this is what I do.
http://larry.wvnet.edu/~van/pics/lic...late-small.jpg
WWW.WVBIKE.ORG
WVvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:10 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 989
Re: Scangauge placement?

I have a single DIN radio so there is a space below it about the exact same size. It is basically a compartment. I placed the Scangauge there and it works really well, although taller cups in the cupholders can block the view. I really like Greg's placement though.
__________________
2007 Ford RB Diesel SMB 4x4 Pueblo Gold; Custom configuration (aisle layout); PIAA 580 driving lights; Picked up on Oct 19, 2007.
sdwindansea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:20 AM   #6
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,395
Re: Scangauge placement?

Here's how I have mine mounted. Really trick setup and really neat. Problem is, during daylight hours there's typically too much backlighting for the ScanGuage display to be easily seen. As much as I like this mount (nice and clean), I don't recommend you go this way. I may end up moving my ScanGuage elsewhere, but then again, that's another project I probably won't get to.


http://www.blendmount.com/scangauge.html

Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:47 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
geoffff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 885
Re: Scangauge placement?

Mine's over my PRNDL. Don't usually need to look to see what gear I'm in.



-- Geoff
__________________
2004 Ford, SMB 4x4, RB-50
http://octopup.org/sportsmobile
geoffff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:12 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Ford_6L_E350's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington - Ridgefield
Posts: 4,725
Re: Scangauge placement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scalf77
Drilled a hole above 12 volt outlet, and mounted there. I have thought of cutting more material out and recessing the whole thing in, but it never went by the thought stage.



-greg
That is exactly where mine is mounted. Easy to see and reach. I can change readouts on the fly or easily reset after a fillup with one hand.

Mike
__________________
SOLD04 EB350 Custom Floorplan
6.0 PSD 4.10 Posi
Salem Kroger coil spring 4wd
SMB Trailer w/AT Air Suspension
Alaska to Key West, Labrador and more
130685 miles 16.65 mpg average

Prostate cancer survivor. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11099
2015 VW GTI
Leaving CA for WA
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 04:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,281
Re: Scangauge placement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WVvan
Hey Greg,
That is my alternate location. Did you have to remove the dash to mount it there or can it be reached from beneath?

Dave
Yes you can reach it from beneath, I did not have to remove the dash. I will remove it and take a picture of the hole if I have time tonight. As Mike said, it is very easy to access and for input and such, your eyes don't need to wander to far from the road.

-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
woodbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 282
Re: Scangauge placement?

This is where I finally figured was the best place for me to place my scanguage. Well out of the way, I have no problem seeing it ( just wish there would be one more up on the brightness setting), and I didn't have to drill a hole in the dash.

Woody



__________________

__________________
2009 White E-350 Modified EB-43, 4x4, 6.0 PSD
http://www.beckersminerals.com
woodbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.