Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2009, 06:27 PM   #1
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,878
Shore power question

With the CEL on and it's associated Error Code, I'm not driving the van, and with my solar on the fritz, I want to try to keep my batteries charged. I connected my shore power cable, the 30A to 15A dogbone, and then an extension cord to an outside house outlet. I kept throwing the GFI on the house outlet.

With the batteries somewhat discharged, am I drawing too much current and throwing the GFI, or is there some other problem? I've never even tried to connect to shore power at the house before. I have successfully connected to shore power at a campground though.


Herb
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 08:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
yvrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 795
Re: Shore power question

Herb...

Your question sounded familiar and if you have the TripLite 2000W inverter/charger, check out message viewtopic.php?f=14&t=834&hilit

While the initial question was different, the discussion turned to your problem...

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Jack
'01 Ford EB50p Quigley 4WD
yvrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Re: Shore power question

Herb, I run mine through a GFI on a 20A breaker with no problems. I use the GFI as a switch. I remember John K making a comment about some inverters having a problem like what Jack posted about. I have a Xantrex Prosine 2000.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 06:02 PM   #4
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,878
Re: Shore power question

Plugged in through a household outlet in the garage (non-GFI) and no problems whatsoever. The van is happily charging away.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 08:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,597
Re: Shore power question

Have you tried an outlet tester to verify the GFI is wired correctly?
__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 09:57 AM   #6
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,878
Re: Shore power question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jage
Have you tried an outlet tester to verify the GFI is wired correctly?
Haven't tried that as I "assumed" it was wired correctly. A friend who is a trade electrician did it, but I guess it can't be a bad thing to verify. Trust but verify.


Herb
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.