Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2015, 02:18 AM   #1

The mystery of the slowly dying batteries

Hi All,

I’m an electrical noob here with a nasty issue, so apologies in advance if I say something stupid. I have done some research here. Some very helpful insights. But I still can’t seem to solve the specific issue I’m having. Specifically - I’ve had to replace my house battery every year (nearly like clockwork) for the past 3 years. And if I'm not hooked up on shore power, my starting batteries die within 2 - 3 days. My current theory is I’ve got a parasitic draw, so I’ve started to hunt for it.

To frame up the situation:
2005 E-350 V10 gas that was converted to a SMB in 2011. Van has 2 van batteries, one under the hood and one under the rear doors - it took me a while to figure this out.
It has most of the options available at that time, including an inverter/charger (Tripp-lite MRV2012UL), a separator (Blue Sea 7620), solar up top (1 cell), stereo Amp & switch to play the stereo from the house battery (was a UB-4D 200A AGM), alarm, switch to link both van & house batteries, etc.

When the van is not used, it’s docked at my house & plugged in (I know there’s debate about if this is ‘good’, would love to get advice on best way to maintain).

When we have to replace the house battery, both the house battery and the van battery system will start to exhibit signs of being heavily drained while out camping (or not hooked up to shore power). Typically during a camping trip it starts to work like this:
Friday day - the battery will show 13+ V (solar is working)
Friday evening, the house battery will creep to a low voltage (less than 12.2V) with what I would consider normal usage (fridge set to 1 - low, some LED lights, running the water pump to do dishes).
Saturday day/evening - this cycle repeats (13V+ during day to less than 12.2 at night.