Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-24-2017, 10:47 AM   #1

What capacity/size separator do I need?

Man!

I have been researching and studying electrical setups, components, and the like for what seems like forever, and I feel like I'm just beginning to wrap my head around it.

I've just now prepped my 1997 E-350 5.4L EB for insulation, flooring, and a bed unit that will go in this weekend.

I've purchased a small inverter and a 105ah AGM house battery so far. The final plans for electrical will be to add a second of the same battery, a battery separator , 200W Renogy solar panel system, and a shore power charger.

However, in the immediate future (i.e., a week and a half), we're going to take this thing out on a 7-10 day trip, and I neither have time nor the money right now to get all of that in there. While we're out on the road and camping, we'll be finalizing our design concepts.

What I want right now, though, is to get a separator installed to charge this house battery. We won't be drawing much power. While I went ahead and bought a small 300W inverter, the biggest thing I'll be using the house battery for is my laptop, which I bought a 12v charger for.

I want a bi-directional separator. What I can't figure out is whether I need a 100 amp or 200+ amp. My immediate budget tells me I'd like to go with the Surepower 1315 100amp unit. But if I need a bigger one than that, I'd just pony up for the Blue Sea 7622 (or is it 7620?) based on what I've read. I'd also get the bigger unit if what I describe below means I'd just be upgrading in the very near future.