Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2010, 04:56 PM   #1

Texas Visit

Hello to all. I'm a newbie seeking advice regarding a planned visit to SMB Texas. But first I want to thank everyone for all the great info and very helpful advice I've gathered during my many, many late nights of reading various threads... this forum is truly a remarkable resource!

I'm age 62, recently retired, and single (but am seeking to change that) and have been dreaming of owning a SMB for a very long time (think "pre-internet"). I live in the Midwest (Jefferson City, MO) but love and want to spend time exploring the western U.S. Although the macho part of me wants a Ford 4x4, I cannot afford either the high initial cost or the ongoing fuel expense. Besides, it's unlikely I'd be able to find a diesel model. Consequently, I've decided on an RB Sprinter to carry me on the Forest Service-type backroads I'm interested in. And from what I've learned on this forum, it should. Which finally brings me to my question...

Does anyone have a recommendation for a specific person at SMB-Ausin? I plan to drive down and spend a day looking at SMBs, asking questions, and finalizing a plan, but want to call in advance and make arrangements to meet with a specific person.

Thanks much in advance for your help.

Old 09-09-2010, 06:35 PM   #2

Re: Texas Visit

I don't know anyone there but just wanted to say hey to a fellow Jefferson City, MO SMB'er! We just got ours from Fresno recently. If you ever wanna see it holler!

Derek
tomesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 06:56 PM   #3

Thanks, Derek; I appreciate the offer and will pm you soon about seeing your rig... I've visited your gallery and can only say "WOW!"

WillieBill
Old 09-09-2010, 07:22 PM   #4