Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2016, 08:55 PM   #1

Onboard Toolbox

Since I am a Handyman by trade and will hopefully be doing some travel/work trips I am working on some tool solutions. I am making a rear bed, full walkthrough layout. My Ridgid Toolboxes will fit under the bed in the back, but I do want a toolbox that is designed with what I will need for maintenance and emergency repairs on the van itself. I have a dedicated socket and wrench set, and need to get an electrical tool list together as well, I will probably get them together as I am doing the electrical system and solar stuff.
I am looking for a small ox I can keep all this stuff together in and have a dedicated spot for it. Trying to figure it out now before I build a spot for it so I am not trying to fit something in later that doesn't work as well.

My main boxes I use for work are the Stackable Ridgid System and it works well but I dont need anything this big for the dedicated box.

I found this Stanley Metal Box on Amazon and it is pretty cool. The price ia bit higher than I was looking into but the reviews say it is well built and really sturdy.

There is a Stanley Plastic Version as well that is much cheaper but doesnt look as strong or as cool for that matter.

There is also a Cantilever Excel Toolbox I found but I have had issues with this style in the past getting slightly bent and then not opening or closing properly. It does have the benefit of more storage in the same amount of space.

There is also a super beefy International Toolbox but there are no organization trays, and it is larger than I was thinking of. It would make a great bumper box, I don't think it is big enough for batteries or that might be another use for it.

Is there a toolbox you have used for your dedicated Van Tools? Also is there any tools you view as must have in the Van?

www.DirkMitchell.com