Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-17-2020, 08:32 PM   #1

Folding Seat Hinges - AliExpress

I just ordered a set of 0 - 180 degree seat hinges from RVWorld Store via AliExpress ($29 + $44 shipping, which seems reasonable in total). Hopefully they will be perfect for converting a stock 3 passenger seat so it will both fold out flat and forward.

While I'm waiting for them to arrive, I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these (I couldn't find anything by searching this forum)?

https://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/...Id=32777753123

The vendor has a lot of other products useful in a conversion assuming shipping isn't prohibitive :

https://rvworldstore.aliexpress.com/...57ad2e0exnU7Jr

This is my first time ordering from AliExpress so I'm a bit nervous but I figured it was worth the risk in lieu of spending hours trying to fabricate something or find something at Pick-N-Pull. Time will tell and I'll post an update when they arrive.

BCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 12:39 AM   #2

I have been working on this for the past month or so. I could not see the hinges you ordered so I do not know if they are the same.

Here are the ones I am using:
Click image for larger version

Name:	A4E8E556-150E-493E-9523-D8075044F2C2.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	100.1 KB
ID:	31375

I have about 40 hrs into figuring out how to make these work to convert the stock bench seat. I am getting close and am at the point of fabricating the base frame to accept the hinges.

Challenges are the large V groove left between the stock back and seat when flat, plus the upholstery mods, and having the seat back upright enough to provide comfort yet able to transition to “flat”.
Old 01-18-2020, 08:20 AM   #3