Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2019, 07:24 PM   #1

Garage
Hightop Buildout Questions

Background: I have a Fiberine 24" Transit style top, E350 EB. Top has the 1/2" OSB reinforcement on the ceiling and two strips of wood down each side. They told me they don't recommend any more than 300 pounds on the roof. My plan is for solar panels at the front and a rack platform at the rear for sitting, photography, stargazing, etc. One window on the drivers side, two on the passenger side. Which leads me to my questions:

How have people been attaching roof racks to a fiberglass roof? I have no experience with fiberglass, so can you just attach it directly through the glass with some bolts and a backing plate? That was my thought anyway; fabricating some brackets to hold 8020 bars, and drilling through the glass with two bolts each, and a backing plate on the inside.

I've seen plenty of pictures of people standing on their fixed high tops. I've also seen some pictures where the inside has been reinforced with a metal "roll cage" for the lack of a better term. Is this needed or is the glass actually strong enough to hold two people and not crack and/or have the mounting bolts begin to sheer the fibers?

One last question, I've seen tops with four windows, two per side, but I've never seen one with a window in the back. Is it not feasible? I'd like to have the three side windows as already mentions and one on the back. This also has me looking at fabricating some internal support structure, but don't know if it's really needed?

Old 11-26-2019, 08:55 PM   #2
JWA

Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
Raised fiberglass roofs aren't meant to be structural in and of themselves---the roll cages you mention are DOT required and necessary when/if the C-pillar is removed to accommodate taller rear doors. If that part is intact the roll cage is still a good idea but not required.