Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2011, 12:48 PM   #1

Lightweight cabinet construction ideas?

I'm brainstorming about how to build a lightweight yet stout "lift out" kitchen unit, much like what is found in VW Westfalia vans. My build is on a Chevy 1500 chassis so weight savings is important. Please keep in mind that I am a novice woodworker/van converter when reviewing my ideas. I have a crude Google sketchup file that I can share later (saved on another PC).

The overall dimensions of the unit will be 32"L x 24"D x 28"H. There will be no sink or cook surface to keep it simple and light. I would like to try to mount a removable 5 gal. water bottle (example) in the unit (this is debatable but would like to make it work) since I already have the manual pump pictured. My refrigerated food storage would be a Yeti Tundra 50 on some type of full-extension drawer slides. The top and the side with a drop-leaf extension will be a countertop material or possibly a sheet of thin stainless steel glued to 1/4" plywood. I'm open to opinions on what would be best. Stainless would be nice since it can be cleaned easily, can prepare food on it and anything hot can be set on it. The issue will be cutting it cleanly and dressing the edge. There would be hand-holds cut out on the either end to make it easier to lift.

My first idea is to build an internal framework then face it with 1/4" plywood with fairly standard construction.

My second idea was to use thicker plywood (1/2 or 3/4") and use rabbet style joints where all the faces meet to construct a sturdy frameless box. Internal structure and bracing would be used as needed to create shelves, drawers, partitions, etc.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

zuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:29 PM   #2

Re: Lightweight cabinet construction ideas?