Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2018, 11:46 AM   #21

Grand Junction CO

In April of 2017 I was sent to Grand Junction CO for work. By trade I am a Field Engineer in the Broadcast Television business. It is about a 4 hour drive from my house to Grand Junction. I was going to get a rental car to put the miles on it but I woke up to a big snow storm and I had to head over 11,000 foot pass with the storm coming head on. I decided to cancel my rental and take the van on its first really long distance run. I loaded up and headed over the pass. Weather was mostly wet until the Eisenhower/Johnson Tunnel which is over a mile long and goes through the top of the mountain on I-70. Once through I came out to about 8 inches of fresh snow on the other side. There wasn't anyone in front of me so I dropped her into second and just coasted about 30 mph all the way down the very steep grade. I think it is like 8% for 8 straight miles and not a plow in site. I figured people would be passing me. Usually this spot is a race track for Subaru's. This time everyone just lined up behind me and we all coasted down together. I must have looked like I knew what I was doing because not a single person passed me on the way down. Just after Silverthorne the road quickly turned into a parking lot as a tractor trailer up ahead had wrecked on Vail Pass and closed down the road.

Sat there for about 2 hours while they reopened the road. Chilled on my bench and played on my phone. Cell service is usually pretty good around major highways.

After work each day I headed over to the Kokopelli trail system near Fruita for some evening biking. The vans are the best base camp ever.

Beautiful views and a nice respite from the long winters at my house.

I truly love the desert.

DaYeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 11:53 AM   #22

No Garage