Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2019, 07:27 PM   #1

SEMA 2019 Transit 4x4 Race "Chase" Red

Hello and Howdy All,
It has been a while since I was on this forum but many of you I see on Expedition Portal and some I have noticed on the Ford Transit Forum as I have researched there.

For SEMA this year I am building a 2019 Race Red 130 Regular Body Low Roof Transit with the 3.5L Eco-boost.

My son's and I run Peg Leg Garage as a fun side gig, we all have full time jobs except me ( I work part time as an ICU RN which lets me take folks out in the dirt and play). We do the PLG thing for fun and to help the companies we like.

One of the things I want to speak to in this thread is how SEMA and sponsorships in general work. The behind the scenes hassles and then to see how is actually all works when done. The real test will be at the next NORRA Mexican 1000 as this one of the chase rigs for a 1969 Bronco!

Old 08-27-2019, 07:28 PM   #2

We more moving right along lining up the right partners who make the best goodies for this Overland, VanLife, Chase Van.

Sportsmobile has us on the schedule for the electric poptop, it will have a Thule rack rail that we plan to use for solar panel mounts.

Quadvan has us scheduled for the 4wd conversion which will include a gear ratio change to 3.73, limited slip/lockers, rear axle shock mount shortening, installation of VanCompass intercooler and diff skids, and a bit more.

Aluminess has us on the schedule for a front bumper install.

Extreme Outback is working on our list of On Board Air Compressors, tanks and bits.....can't wait to check out the new Endura line. Having owned a Magnum and High Output compressor I am sure the Endura rocks.

Scheel-Mann is getting our super supportive and amazing seats ready.