Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2018, 09:05 PM   #1

1997 4x4 V10 to diesel conversion?

I have a 1997 Sportsmobile, clean body, rust free which is rare here in the rust belt. The V10 with 200k on it threw a spark plug out and I don't want to repair it. I'm planning an Alaska trip in 2019 and don't want this tired engine. A 1999 E350 4x2 with a 7.3L Powerstroke popped up on craigslist with 115k miles on it dirt cheap so i bought it. I meant to research these type of conversions before purchasing the diesel van but I didn't have time to.

I am a very experienced mechanic having done many other gas to diesel conversions in non Ford vehicles. Many other motor replacements as well. I assume this won't be fun, having to change wiring harnesses, etc. But I also assume it can be done since its similar era E350 to similar era E350 vans. I realize I will likely have to change transmissions as well and I am not worried about that. Likely fuel tank swap too.

Has anyone done this conversion? I imagine this is not easy but definitely possible. I'm in no hurry so I plan on working on this over the next 12 month. Is there any reason I shouldn't? I have a well equipped shop and tools.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1734-1.jpg  

twilkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 10:45 PM   #2

A body swap would be easier. You'd want to pull the body anyways to do the engine swap. Besides the entire engine electrical harness, you'd be swapping the fuel systems (except the tank) as well.

Repairing the V10 isn't hard, and will likely be more reliable in the long run compared to the 7.3L.

Your V10 has the E4OD which is mechanically similar to the 4R100 behind the '99 Power-stroke (and V10s) but is controlled differently. Plus the torque converter stall speeds are different.
Old 02-03-2018, 11:32 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by carringb View Post