Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-25-2010, 03:38 PM   #1

Diesel in freezing temps?

Would appreciate comments about cold weather concerns with a diesel. What would be the temperature (Fahrenheit) below which it would be necessary to plug in the block heater even if you are using winter diesel fuel? I live in warm country but may be driving a diesel up north this winter. Thanks for info. Stosh

Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 09:06 PM   #2

Re: Diesel in freezing temps?

Hmmm.... loaded question that I'm sure will generate lots of debate.

I live in Canada and have a lot of experience with block heaters and cold weather starting. I now live on the warm west coast but spent most of my life on the cold winter prairies and northern latitudes. I'm no expert but here's what I tend to do:

I usually plug my 6.0L in after the temps drop below freezing - usually on a switched circuit. If I know I'm going to drive it the next day I'll leave it plugged in overnight. If I know I'm not going to drive for a few days I'll throw the switch off. If it's been off I like to give it at least a couple of hours to heat the block (4 hours if its really cold) before I attempt to start it. If it stays really cold (say below 0 degrees F) I'll leave it plugged in all the time.

Another tidbit:
My friend is a firefighter and they leave their diesels plugged in all the time, even in summer. When the alarm sounds these vehicles get driven hard right away so apparently its easier on them when the block is pre-warmed.

My thoughts. Hope they help.
Jepa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 10:48 PM   #3

Helpful info, but what if you are camping in the boonies and the temp unexpectedly drops way below freezing for several hours while you are sleeping? If you want to leave early in the morn, are you stuck? Thanks, Stosh.
Old 09-25-2010, 11:47 PM   #4

Quote: