Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2013, 08:46 AM   #1

Hydroboost brake upgrade question...

I have a 2006 6.0 EB with what I think is damn near every upgrade that SMB offered the original purchaser at that time. Mobi (its name) weighs in at a slight 11k lbs and has the stopping power of mile long freight train. I just replaced the entire braking system, and while having this done (Johns 4x4 in boulder) the mgr of the biz figured out that I have no hydroboost, only a vacuum boost, and is recommending that I go a bit further in my repair and that I will see substantial gains in braking power. Makes sense to me, but wanted to check in with the crew here at smbforum, and get your take. Just read ETBADGER's post about his upgrade, but have to say I am not very technically proficient. That said I am putting about 60k a year on this bad boy and always have a 12 foot enclosed trailer on the rear...
The question here: after 3k in totally new rotors/calipers all around (2 were failing), which did improve braking power slightly, is it worth another 900, to upgrade from vacuum boost to hydroboost? Will the increase be that substantial.
Opinions appreciated...

Old 06-29-2013, 09:16 AM   #2

Location: Rancho Nuevo (Cabo/Todos Santos) B.C.S. and San Diego, CA
Re: Hydroboost brake upgrade question...

My first question would be - does the trailer have working brakes?

I don't believe it would be a significant improvement as long as everything you have now is working correctly. Have someone put a brake fluid pressure gauge on your brakes at the brake calipers (attached at the bleeder port) and see what kind of pressures you are seeing, front and back. If you are not getting a minimum of 1000 Psi and hopefully close to 1250 Psi then you have a problem.