Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2011, 11:16 AM   #1

New here... got some quetions

I have a 1989 Ford clubwagon E150.
Tow package
Duel fuel tank 11/14gal.
Back bench folds to a bed.

I am pretty sure I have a 5.0.

I have towed a fairly heavy Popup camper all summer with it but this last trip to the beach(9hrs each way) on the way home the tranny overheated and dumped fluid. I stopped it as soon as I noticed the tranny wasn't catching. I let it cool, replaced the fluid and all was fine to get home. It actually isn't even leaking. I took it to my mechanic yesterday to have seals checked and replaced as well as filters and to make sure the tranny isn't toast. he is going to replace the old tranny cooler for a newer one as well.

My question is anything else to keep this from happening again? I am new to vans and would like to own a SMB one day but for now my clubwagon is going to have to due for now.

I do plan on doing some upgrades, but all of that is on hold until we get the tranny worked out.

THe trailer is 2300lbs and the van is full of gear and my family.

THanks,

Tommy

TCXJWAGONEER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 10:41 AM   #2

Re: New here... got some quetions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCXJWAGONEER
I have a 1989 Ford clubwagon E150.
Tow package
Duel fuel tank 11/14gal.
Back bench folds to a bed.

I am pretty sure I have a 5.0.