Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2015, 12:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 132
AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

I'm trying to understand the benefit of an AC/DC fridge vs DC only.

If I have an inverter that charges my House Batteries when connected to Shore power than having a Fridge that has DC only connections is sufficient when connected to Shore power without draining the house battery.

If this is the case what is teh benefit of having an AC/DC version?
__________________

rean1mator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rockbender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 799
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

In my opinion, none for the way most of us have our vans set up.
__________________

__________________
Josh
2009 Express AWD, CCV Top & 50-ish home build. Daily driver/camper/kid hauler
rockbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 05:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,227
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

I agree. DC only is all I would think most would need.
__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 05:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

I'm just thinking out loud, but in the same situation I'm planning on an AC/DC model. Reasons (which may or may not be valid):

1) My previous Norcold ran "perkier" on AC even when the house bank was topped right up and in great shape. Not sure why - or if that applies to newer models.

2) Batteries have a finite cycle life, so why cycle them more than necessary (when van is plugged in and fridge could run straight from AC). That could be a lot of cycles, depending on how van and fridge are used/parked).

3) Charger running to top up batteries will generate some heat/noise that could be avoided (when plugged in).

None of this may apply to your scenario. Actually, I rarely plug in, so it's only tangential to mine, but there have been times I was plugged in for awhile (mostly when visiting/staying with friends or relatives), and I did like to be able to run the previous fridge off AC then (even though I had a charger and house bank).

Be interested in others' thoughts on it.
Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 08:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

You know, as I thought this over more, I don't think my #2 reason would be valid. I say that because I think the charger (or inverter) does power DC loads directly when you are plugged in.

The others may or may not be a real thing.
Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 08:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Poughkeepsie, New York
Posts: 122
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

What you would like to avoid with an DC/AC refrig is to have it running on AC when the AC is being provided by the inverter. When the Refrig is provided with both AC and DC it will choose AC...
__________________
2015 Promaster Sportsmobile
KB2ZE
Old retired IBM Engineer
DCHitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 08:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,424
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

I worked over this same issue before selecting a DC only TruckFridge. Less cost and and I am hardly ever hooked up to shore power when away from home. 270 wats of solar keeps the batteries topped up..
__________________
"A straight line may be the shortest distance between two points but it is by no means the most interesting". Jon Pertwee as Dr. Who, The Time Warrior.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCHitt
What you would like to avoid with an DC/AC refrig is to have it running on AC when the AC is being provided by the inverter. When the Refrig is provided with both AC and DC it will choose AC...
I didn't know that - is it always the case? I don't have an inverter but a friend does, and his 2-way (AC/propane) fridge will not kick over to AC when the inverter is on (which it often is boondocking to power a desktop computer). But I think it does kick over to AC automatically when the rig is plugged in. I wonder if that has to do with it sensing shorepower vs. sensing the inverter (which it does not seem to do). I'll have to ask him (now I'm curious).
Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:30 PM   #9
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

I trip the breaker that feeds the fridge off when I use the inverter. I also leave my fridge on for long lengths of time between trips and I don't want to cycle the batteries at night. I have my charger set to supply a maintenance level while plugged in. It's not a charging session but keeps the batteries around 13v and being the fridge runs off AC while plugged in, everything stays at a level voltage. I always avoid an overcharging situation especially when it's 100+ degrees outside.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: AC/DC Fridge vs DC only.

Interesting, Dave. Running it on 110 is a good fit for your scenario when plugged in at home and only minimally charging.

I checked with my bud and he did say that with a whole-house inverter that situation mentioned above could happen (I hadn't realized that). He manually puts his refrigerator to propane or AC power, so that when the inverter is on (but rig not plugged in) it will not go to AC (running from the inverter/batteries, which would not be good!).

I guess there could also be a way to wire the refrigerator (AC/DC one) so that when on shorepower it would run from 110, and when on inverter/battery it would run on DC, but my brain is feeling overstretched at the moment I only have a charger (not inverter) so have not figured this out for my own rig.
__________________

Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.