Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2017, 09:09 PM   #1

Airtronic Fuel Pickup Help

Because I am an amateur and planned poorly, I don't have a fuel pickup for my Espar B4. So this weekend that is gonna happen. I have the standard Espar top mount pickup that I would need to drill a 1" hole in the top of my tank. No big deal except it's a fair amount of work dropping the tank, removing the fuel cell, cleaning it, defuming it, filling it with water and drilling the hole, remounting the tank...etc.

Now my Aero tank came with what looks like a 1/4" NPT bung and plug on the back bottom of the tank. Pictured below.

Cruising the net, I see that there are 1/4" NPT fuel petcocks. Like the one show below. This would be about a 10 minute job to remove the plug and install the petcock. I could get a 90 degree and start the fuel line in the upward direction and be well on my way.

Seems like the petcock would be a no brainer considering the hours it will take me vs 20 bucks and a couple hose clamps. My issue is that it seems to be in a really vulnerable spot, back by the wheel and at the bottom of the tank. Granted the axle is back there too which should prevent that sort of thing, but one never knows. Should the petcock break or the fuel line get torn then pretty much the tank is gonna drain out.

Now I could fab up a skid plate kind of thing that mounts to the frame and overlaps the tank which has a skid plate on the bottom too. No big deal to do that. But I am just tentative about that due to not wanting any issues when I am in the sticks. Easy enough fix if something happened, just keep the plug in the van. But......

thoughts?? Suggestions?? Anyone ever drill a fuel tank??

Of course all of this could have been avoided had I bought a fuel pickup in advance and had it mounted when Agile put in the Aero tank. But that would have been way too easy.