Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2015, 01:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 43
Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 modes

Dealing with a new to me '89 SMB. I'm guessing this is the original fridge just based on the looks of it?

The previous owner made it sound like it worked but it was too much of a pain or a battery hog so he rarely used it. Fast forward a couple of weeks since I've owned the van and been on a few trips and I'm just now getting around to looking into the fridge. There's been bigger issues to deal with and we also have a nice yeti cooler so it hasn't been a priority.

I tried it on propane, it doesn't seem to ever light the pilot. Propane does work, furnace and range work great.

I tried it on AC while plugged into shore power. It draws power from the inverter but nothing happens.

I tried it on DC, nothing happens, no load on the battery.

Before I start looking into replacements, anything I should check or something easy I'm missing?
__________________

dfinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,325
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

You have an older style 3-way RV fridge. Most SMBs don't have these, so you're probably going to get more troubleshooting ideas on an RV specific forum. I recommend Woodall's/Open Roads forum. It's huge and organized and tons of help there. I don't think SMB has put this style of fridge in probably since the late 90's.
Anyway, as for the propane operation, you've most likely got a clogged orifice. This is a tiny jet at the bottom of the burner. You can usually see it behind a little door towards the bottom of the burner, which is the 'check' door for the pilot light. It can be cleaned with a needle or compressed air and a small brush. They fill with cobwebs and rust over time. Also, you may just need a new control board. IIRC, Dinosaur boards are good ones. I've bought a couple.
A local RV shop is your friend as it sounds like you have a basic RV propane fridge. This is the most common problem with RV fridges.

http://www.dinosaurelectronics.com

__________________

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 07:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,325
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

Oh, I thought of another thing to consider. These older ammonia fridges seem to work best on propane, decent on AC, and only marginally on DC. They are very efficient on propane so I would focus on that if you can. Good luck.

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 08:41 AM   #4
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,004
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by 86Scotty
Oh, I thought of another thing to consider. These older ammonia fridges seem to work best on propane, decent on AC, and only marginally on DC. They are very efficient on propane so I would focus on that if you can. Good luck.

If it is an ammonia-based fridge, I can tell you firsthand that if they develop leaks, it is shear misery to breath that stuff. My in-laws have a fifth wheel on their property they use as a bedroom for visitors. My wife and I were staying there when the fridge started leaking.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Poughkeepsie, New York
Posts: 122
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

See if you can find a 12 volt compressor refrigerator that is of the same dimensions. If it fits the hole the rest is easy to change over. I gave up on gas refrigerators a long time ago.
__________________
2015 Promaster Sportsmobile
KB2ZE
Old retired IBM Engineer
DCHitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 06:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,325
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCHitt
See if you can find a 12 volt compressor refrigerator that is of the same dimensions. If it fits the hole the rest is easy to change over. I gave up on gas refrigerators a long time ago.
Agreed. I would upgrade if it's not a simple fix. Don't get too freaked out by this but ammonia fridges are a big fire hazard if they leak. I wouldn't worry too much though, every RV has one in it almost.

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 03:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 43
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

Haven't had a chance yet but I think before I give up on it I'll swing by a local RV place and see if they can get it to work on propane. It would be nice to have. At the same time I think we can totally live without it, I may just pull it out and use that space as more storage. A while back I invested in a Yeti cooler which I love and it fits perfectly in the rear drivers side storage area.
dfinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 874
Re: Dometic RM2192 doesn't want to work on any of the 3 mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by 86Scotty
These older ammonia fridges seem to work best on propane, decent on AC, and only marginally on DC. They are very efficient on propane so I would focus on that if you can. Good luck.
I'm not sure if this is why they don't work well on DC, but propane (absorption) refrigerators take a huge amount of electricity to run (on either AC or DC). Of course, on AC, you're usually plugged in so there is plenty to go around; but on DC they are formidable. I don't remember specifics, but if a small compressor style refrigerator would take something like 4 amps to run on DC, a propane (3-way) might take 18 amps or something like that. Not hard to imagine that not going well over a period of time on batteries I suspect most DC use is while driving.

But like you said, efficient on propane.

But these days if a reasonable amount of solar is an option, I'd tend to opt for a compressor unit. 'Course you have the propane one, so it's natural to try to get it working.
__________________

Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×