Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2018, 11:31 AM   #1

Cold winter wx with a Ford e350 Sportsmobile

Hi there - I'm new to the Sportsmobile community, and have a question re winter camping. Live in Colorado and spend much of the winter in the high country engaged in AT skiing. I'm interested in feedback on the pop-up type van Sportsmobiles as a suitable winter camping vehicle in temps down to around 5 degrees Fahrenheit. Thanks!

Backpacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:57 AM   #2

You should have no problems. Plenty of members here do the same thing, you just need a suitable heater and as much insulation as you can reasonably install.
Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
arctictraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 07:09 PM   #3

Yep ^^^

86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 07:18 PM   #4

We do a bit of winter camping, camping up at the ski mountain and if it is just to cold for our Espar diesel heater to keep up we just keep the pop top down.
Old 10-31-2018, 07:46 PM   #5

Garage
Been in single digits & low teens for several days at a time - Espar heater was our savior, but then we have the cold weather insulation along with then sound deadening, so that helps considerably. A good sleeping bag removes any regrets from the equation!
Bellpilot offers sound advice - keep the top down if you have concerns.

In the scenario you presented, Also need to take into account (if you have it) where your water lines run.
Old 11-01-2018, 09:42 AM   #6

Add me to the list of folks with popup van that sleeps with the top down in the winter. Cozy warm but only two of us with a dog. We camp in some super cold conditions. Well below zero.
simplesez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 10:49 AM   #7

Garage