Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-08-2018, 08:49 AM   #1

New to Forum - Just bought a quigley

Hey All!

I just bought a lifted quigley V10 ford 350 super duty last week. I'm super excited to start the build out and thought I would join the SMB forum to join the community and get ideas and input on the build as things progress.

This van is an '08 that spend its life working as a border patrol vehicle in Arizona. Right now it's a blank slate and my goal is to build it into a full camper and spend a 1 or 2 year travel sabbatical from the 9 to 5 grind that I've been doing for the last 12 years.

I'm not sure if I'll do a pent house or not but here are some immediate upgreades I plan on doing:

-New stereo and audio system

-insulation

-captains chair on front passenger seat, maybe drivers seat but not sure if there's room w/ the 4x4 shifter

-roof fan

-off road bumper

-get the biggest tires I can get installed on this thing, hopefully 33" or 35"

-upgrade the suspension
-set up electrical storage and solar paneling on roof
-build out interior with bed, cabinets, maybe a kitchenette
-Maybe rock slider pannels - how important are these?

What else should I put on this build schedule? My goal with the van is to be able to take it on easy to moderate 4x4 trails (grade 4 to 5 probably) but not necessarily more than that. Hells revenge in Moab, for instance, is probably about one grade higher than what I would want to take it on.

Also - what do people recommend in terms of priority of budget? Are there areas of the build that you can go "cheap" on and are there areas of the build that you should spend some extra $$ and go all out on for performance purposes?

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
20181130_120030_resized.jpg  

Mr.Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 09:51 AM   #2

Wow. Nice van you got there.