Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-28-2013, 11:11 PM   #1

1990 Ford SMB e250 - newbie potential purchase

Newbie here. The forum has been a terrific source of info.

I've been thinking of a small camper for eons. For the last 5 years I've been fixated on VW Westfalias. Then about 6 months ago I realized it might be a better idea to get an SMB. My budget is $8-$15k's.

I came across a 1990 Ford Sportsmobile - 2WD. 63K original miles. 460 V8 engine. Towing package, dual gas tanks, new tires, Fridge, microwave, porta potty, sofa couch, sink, portable stove. The seller wants $13k but I've yet to see it in person. Seller said his family is the original owner and it hasn't seen much use in 7 years. Starts up fine.

If I get serious about it I will definitely have a Ford dealer review it.

Beyond making sure the various items listed above work, what else would you look for in checking the quality of the vehicle? How is the 460 V8 in terms of reliability? And what would be a fair price? I feel somewhere in the $8k range seems fair.

I would mostly be using this for local beach camping and an occasional stint to Yosemite with my wife and two younger sons.

Thanks a lot for the insight.

Ron

wooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:29 AM   #2

Re: 1990 Ford SMB e250 - newbie potential purchase

460 is easy to work on. Not sure Ford Dealer is the place to go, due to age it might be out of their wheelhouse so to speak. It's a gas hog though, depending on how much you roam if you're not towing it might be overkill vs. gas prices these days- considering your budget, can you afford to pour gas through the engine?

search.php?keywords=460+mileage&terms=all&author=& sc=1&sf=all&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&st=0&ch=300&t=0&sub mit=Search+It
Old 08-29-2013, 05:47 AM   #3