Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: ERS provider?
AAA RV 4 36.36%
Good Sam's Club ERS 1 9.09%
your vehicle insurance provider's ERS 2 18.18%
I'm a Master mechanic and I'll never need it 1 9.09%
none of the above 2 18.18%
none (fingers crossed) 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Old 09-06-2007, 06:44 PM   #1
Site Team

Emergency Road Service

I was wondering who everyone uses for Emergency Road Service (ERS) if stranded on the road? I've heard that unless you opt for special AAA coverage, they do not cover RV's. Therefore I'm debating on whether or not to get their special coverage, or just go with Good Sam's Club ERS.

Herb

Old 09-06-2007, 07:36 PM   #2

You need straight ol' AAA on there. It ain't no class C or class A, to them it's just a van. If you can keep from explaining to them what a cool compact RV vehicle it is you'll probably do fine with AAA.

Plus you get free maps which can't be beat.
Old 09-06-2007, 08:53 PM   #3
Site Team

Well another twist is if you're towing. With AAA, if they can accomodate a seoncd vehicle (trailer), I think you'll get dinged for TWO service calls. They may also force you to leave your towed vehicle to be picked up at some later time. With Good Sam, they will accomodate both the tow rig and trailer. FYI, this is all secondhand (at best) info from RV discussion boards; just trying to find any firsthand info.

Herb
Old 09-07-2007, 11:28 PM   #4

I’ve called AAA twice and both times I was disappointed. My first call was for my 2002 SMB 4X4 RB50 with a flat tire on Highway 17. AAA was out in 20 minutes to tell me that the van looked too heavy and they would not change the tire because they have a 9,000 pound limit, and left. I used the stock jack and changed the tire myself.